Skip to main content

ORA: Oxford University Research Archive: Open access and ORA

A guide to using ORA for storing and disseminating digital copies of Oxford research publications including theses

Useful links

ORCID at Oxford

An ORCID iD is a unique researcher identifier, used worldwide, that you keep throughout your life and retain even if you move institution. ORCID iDs look like a credit card number:  0000-0002-2229-0999.

It is increasingly becoming the method of choice by funders and publishers globally to unambiguously link people to their publications and grants.

You can register for an ORCID iD or to connect your existing ORCID iD with the university by using ORCID at Oxford.

Open Access and ORA

University of Oxford academics and researchers are strongly committed to, and already very active in, ensuring the widest possible access to research findings for the benefit of the international research community and society more widely. The value and utility of research outputs increases the more broadly they are available to be considered and used by others.

The University favours, now and for the foreseeable future, open access by means of the Green Route. This enables authors to publish in any journal and to self-archive a version of the article for free public use.  Thus the Green approach provides most of the benefits for a much smaller additional cost than Gold Open Access (which involves paying Article Processing Charges) (APCs).

The Oxford University Research Archive (ORA) aims to make the full text of as many items as possible Open Access, allowing for free dissemination of full text content, available to anyone with Internet access.

Making items Open Access removes barriers that restrict access to published work. ORA is able to promote and encourage the sharing of the scholarly output produced by the members of the University of Oxford that have been published under Open Access conditions.

Open Access work should be properly attributed according to standard academic practice.

ORA as an 'Institutional Repository'

There are two methods of making work open access:

  1. Depositing a copy to an Institutional Repository such as ORA (rights permitting - we can help with copyright queries).
  2. Publishing in an Open Access journal or in a journal that offers an 'Open' option.

Benefits to the members of the University of Oxford include:

  • Free sharing of knowledge to the academic community. 
  • Promoted engagement with the work – it is more easily accessible and therefore more likely to be read and cited.
  • ORA makes notoriously elusive items such as some conference papers and posters, unpublished works and out of print items easy to obtain.
  • It publicises the scholarly work and research of the University of Oxford and its members.

ORA supports Open Access and academic compliance with research funder policies such as RCUK and the Wellcome Trust. Compliance with Open Access is becoming increasingly important as more policies become mandated. To find out more about Open Access at Oxford and the University of Oxford's Statement on Open Access, please visit our dedicated Open Access Oxford website

We recommend that Oxford users take the opportunity to get into ‘good practice’ of deposit prior to the REF deadlines to ensure a greater rate of compliance when the enforcement dates become active.

More details with regards to depositing in ORA can be found here.

Oxford Research Archive

Oxford University Research Archive (ORA) is an institutional repository for the University of Oxford and is home to the scholarly output of its research members. It holds publications, theses and research data.

ORA Helpdesk:

Email us:
ora@bodleian.ox.ac.uk

Call us:
01865 (2)83809