Skip to main content

ORA: Oxford University Research Archive: Using Symplectic Elements

A guide to using ORA for storing and disseminating digital copies of Oxford research publications including theses

Depositing to ORA via Symplectic Elements

Guides to Symplectic Elements

User guides

Using Symplectic Elements

Symplectic Elements is accessible to anyone with a SSO*. It provides a tool for Oxford users to search for their publications by adding specific search terms and filters. Upon finding their publications, publications can then be 'claimed'. Once a publication has been claimed in Symplectic a full-text file can then be added to the record. Claimed publications from outside sources (PubMedCentral, Scopus, WebOfScience, etc) will be automatically transferred into the research archive. Those where full text files are added come through to a review stage, where ORA staff check the full text to ensure that it is in compliance with copyright and publisher policies and update as necessary.

 *Symplectic Elements deposit can be done on the behalf of another individual - in Symplectic Elements a delegate ('impersonator') can be chosen to be given access to deposit on another users behalf.

Symplectic Elements Support and Functional Enhancements Project

Research Services and IT Services are working in partnership to enhance the Symplectic Elements at Oxford services for the collegiate University. This is in response to Open Access (OA) initiatives, but also to move Symplectic Elements to a more robust support structure. The project is currently underway and due to be completed at the end of December 2015. For more information regarding the project and how this will effect you, please see information provided at the Symplectic Elements at Oxford webpages.  

Symplectic Elements Support Desk

For queries relating to the use of Symplectic Elements at Oxford please contact:

Oxford Research Archive

Oxford University Research Archive (ORA) is an institutional repository for the University of Oxford and is home to the scholarly output of its research members. It holds publications, theses and research data.

ORA Helpdesk:

Email us:
ora@bodleian.ox.ac.uk

Call us:
01865 (2)83809