Skip to main content

Modern Languages: Home

Subjects: Modern Languages

Collections

Taylor Institution, St Giles' front, University of Oxford

The Taylor Institution Library contains the largest specialist research collections in the field of European Languages in Britain, as well as separate teaching collections. It also houses collections in Linguistics, European Film and Women's Studies. It is primarily a lending library for members of the University.

For details of the University's extensive digital collections see individual guides.

Taylor Institution Library, St Giles', Oxford. OX1 3NA

tel: +44 (0)1865 278158

Taylor Institution Library Guide (Includes: virtual tour of the Library)

email: tay-enquiries@bodleian.ox.ac.uk

web: www.bodleian.ox.ac.uk/taylor (West European Collections)

 

Guides

Guides for many Modern Languages and related subjects have been prepared. More are planned.

Please email the appropriate subject librarian if your enquiry concerns the following languages: Romanian: Adina Bradeanu; Polish, Czech, Slovakian, Languages of the Former Yugoslavia (except Macedonian - see guide below), Albanian and Languages of the Baltic States: Barbara Baj Wojtowicz; Hungarian: Dr Zsuzsanna Varga.

Faculties

Faculty of Medieval & Modern Languages, website detail

Faculty of Medieval and Modern Languages, 41 & 47 Wellington Square, Oxford. OX1 2JF

tel: +44 (0)1865 270750

email: reception@mod-langs.ox.ac.uk

web: www.mod-langs.ox.ac.uk

--

Faculty of Linguistics, Philology & Phonetics, website detail

Faculty of Linguistics, Philology and Phonetics:

email: enquiries@ling-phil.ox.ac.uk

web: www.ling-phil.ox.ac.uk

--

Faculty of Medieval & Modern Languages, website detail

Faculty of Medieval and Modern Languages, Graduate Studies: MSt in Film Aesthetics:

email: graduate.studies@mod-langs.ox.ac.uk

web: www.ox.ac.uk/admissions/graduate/courses/mst-film-aesthetics

--

Women's Studies at Oxford, website detail

Faculty of Medieval and Modern Languages, Graduate Studies: MSt in Women's Studies:

email: graduate.studies@mod-langs.ox.ac.uk

web: womens-studies.mml.ox.ac.uk