Index
Use the blue tabs (above) to move through this guide, or use the links below to go straight to specialist guides in particular topics or forms of literature.
Public International Law quick start
Printed resources
The LawBod's collection of Public International Law are found in the Wing of the Upper or Gallery floor.
Public International texts have shelf marks beginning Internat.
The material is arranged as follows: treaties: law reports : journals: bibliographies: dictionaries: texts/monographs.
The books on public international law are further subdivided into subject areas eg Internat 570 gathers together works on international human rights. For more details click on the tab (above) called Books, or pick up a leaflet when you visit the LawBod.
Law Library: Reserve Collection
When you search SOLO for texts you may find - especially if the text is recommended on an undergrad reading list - that the location is shown as "Law Library Reserve Collection." Armed with your University Card/Reader's Ticket and desk number, please ask for these books at the Reserve Collection desk in the Reading Room and they will be issued to you for use in the Library.
Electronic resources
Below are a sample of the databases particularly useful when studying this area of law. The LawBod also has subscriptions to many e-versions of international law journals: search by title in the last link.
- ILR International Law Reports OU members only. Full-text in Cases section of Justis.
When within the OU network, just click on Continue to Justis button. - Oxford Reports on International Law OU members only. Full text of decisions from International Courts of General Jurisdiction, of International Criminal Law, of International Human Rights Law, of International Investment Claims and decisions from National/Domestic court where International law has been applied.
- Lexis®Library For OU members only. Click on Sources tab, then change filter to International. Includes ICJ Advisory Opinions, ICJ Judgments, & ICJ Filings.
- Westlaw OU members only. From Westlaw UK's home page click on Services, & on drop down that appears click Westlaw International. Click International/Worldwide Materials
- HeinOnline OU members only. Find link to United Nations Law Collection in list of Subscribed Libraries for full-text of treaties (LNTS & UNTS). Also has journals and classic texts.
- vlex Global OU members only. Treaties and decisions of the International Court of Justice. Please remember to log off when you have finished your session on vlex as our subscription limits the number of concurrent users.
- OU e-journals OU members only. Find e-international law journals by searching for journal title
- Max Planck Encyclopedia of International Law OU members only.
- Collected Courses / Recueil des Cours de L'Academie de Droit International de la Haye OU members only.
- UN's AudioVisual LibraryFree resource. Constantly increasing library of lectures on both general and specific aspects of public international law
- Worldlii's International Law LibraryFree resource
Bodleian Law Library |
Contact Info Main Enquiries, Bodleian Law Library Telephone: +44 (0) 1865 271462 Fax: +44 (0) 1865 271475 Post: Bodleian Law Library, St. Cross Building, Manor Rd Oxford OX1 3UR Send Email |




Loading...
