This is the "German law" page of the "German law" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Last Updated: May 16, 2013 URL: http://ox.libguides.com/law-german Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

German law Print Page
  Search: 
 

What this guide contains

German law quick start

The LawBod's main collection of German legal material is on open shelves in the upper or Gallery Floor.

If you are interested in the laws/legal system of Germany 1871-1945, West Germany and post-Unification Germany, shelfmarks start  German. 

 If you are interested in the law of former East German or Socialist law please click on GDR/DDR tab above.

Note.
The KV you may notice in an increasing number of shelfmarks for German legislation and Kommentare reflects the fact that the collection is being prepared for full conversion to the Moys classification system.

Law Library: Reserve Collection

When you search SOLO for texts you may find - especially if the text is recommended on an undergrad reading list - that the location is shown as "Law Library Reserve Collection."  Armed with your University Card/Reader's Ticket and desk number, please ask for these books at the Reserve Collection desk in the Reading Room and they will be issued to you for use in the Library.

Electronic resources

For members of OU, BeckOnline is the major electronic resource for German law. Below are links to sources available to anyone with internet access.

  • BeckOnline  
      
    OU members only. Database from German publisher. Full text legislation, judgments, law journals and books. Under the home page search box, click in box beside Mein beck-online so that your results will be limited to those sources for which OU has a subscription
  • Lexis®Library  
      
    For OU members only. Legislation, cases & texts in corporate/commercial areas. Note: these are in German only. Click on Sources Tab. Change drop down menu called Filter by: Country to Germany. Look a the alphabet just above the word Germany: all those which are hyperlinks (ie blue) indicate that Lexis has a German title beginning with that letter. Click on letter(s), then click beside any title(s) you need.
  • vlex global  
      
    OU members only.Please remember to log off when you have finished your session on vlex as our subscription limits the number of concurrent users. Selected legislation, law journals & articles from English/US law firms on German law and policy.
  • Gesetze im Internet
    Free resource. From the Federal Ministry of Justice. Includes (unofficial) English translations of major legislation
  • CGERLI: Centre for German Legal Information
    Free resource. "the gateway to German law in English." Supported by the Auswärtige Amt.
 

Introductions to German law

Among useful introductory texts in the LawBod are the ones below:


Cover Art
Introduction to German law - Mathias Reimann and Joachim Zekoll
Call Number: German 510 R362a2
ISBN: 3406537472
(2nd ed., 2005)

Cover Art
Sourcebook on German law - Raymond Youngs
Call Number: German 510 Y81a2
ISBN: 1859416780
(2nd ed, 2002)

Bodleian Law Library

Profile Image
Bodleian Law Library
Logo - FacebookLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
Main Enquiries, Bodleian Law Library
Telephone: +44 (0) 1865 271462
Fax: +44 (0) 1865 271475

Post: Bodleian Law Library,
St. Cross Building,
Manor Rd
Oxford OX1 3UR
Send Email
 
Google Analytics - Bodleian Libraries use Google Analytics cookies on this web site. Google Analytics anonymously tracks individual visitor behaviour on this web site so that we can see how LibGuides is being used. We only use this information for monitoring and improving our websites and content for the benefit of our users (you).

You can opt out of Google Analytics cookies completely (from all websites) by visiting https://tools.google.com/dlpage/gaoptout

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip