This is the "Corporate law" page of the "Corporate law and finance" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Corporate law and finance   Tags: company law, corporation law, electronic legal resources, legal resources  

Last Updated: Feb 27, 2012 URL: http://ox.libguides.com/law-corporate Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Corporate law Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Reading list titles

The following are held at the Reserve Collection Desk

Cover Art
Gower and Davies' principles of modern company law - P. L. Davies ; L. C. B Gower ; S. Worthington; E. Micheler
Call Number: Law Library Reserve Collection
ISBN: 0421949007
(8th ed., 2008). Click on the blue title link to see if your college library also has a copy.

Cover Art
Corporate finance law : principles and policy - Gullifer, Louise and Payne, Jennifer
Call Number: KN250.GUL 2011 1 (Reserve Collection)
ISBN: 1849460043
Publication Date: 2011

Cover Art
Butterworth's company law handbook - Keith Walmsley.
Call Number: Law Library Reserve Collection
ISBN: 1405749865
(24th ed., 2010) Also available electronically via LexisLibrary to OU members.

Cover Art
Sealy's cases and materials in company law. - Len Sealy, Sarah Worthington..
Call Number: Law Reserve
ISBN: 0199576807
(9th ed., 2010) Click on blue title link to see if your college library has a copy.
The LawBod has earlier editions are at Cw UK 525 S449a (sec coll).

Cover Art
Corporate finance law in the UK and EU - Prentice, Daniel ; Reisberg, Arad
Call Number: Law Library: KN250.PRE 2011
ISBN: 9780199589616
Publication Date: 2011

 

Corporate law quick start

Printed resources

          General works on English corporation/company law are to be found in the main Reading Room with shelfmarks beginning Company/Corporation Law KN261. Use the Texts tab (above) to discover other important shelfmarks for this topic.

Works on corporation law for other jurisdications will be shelved within the textbooks for that country; comparative and surveys of corporation laws will be in the General section.

To search the catalogue for the subject use Corporation law +country(optional).

Law Library: Reserve Collection

When you search SOLO for texts you may find - especially if the text is recommended on an undergrad reading list - that the location is shown as "Law Library Reserve Collection."  Armed with your University Card/Reader's Ticket and desk number, please ask for these books at the Reserve Collection desk in the Reading Room and they will be issued to you for use in the Library.

Encyclopedic approach

 To learn the current state of English law on any particular subject from print sources, you need to consult

            Halsbury’s Laws of England shelved in the main Reading Room at K1. This directs you to the key case law and legislation. Halsbury's Laws is a multivolume work, currently moving between editions. The volumes for this topic are:

                                    Companies v. 7, v. 14 5th ed

                                    Corporations  v. 9

                                    Financial Services v.18 4th ed, v.48 5th ed
You will also need to use the updating volumes.

Need to find leading cases?

            The Digest : annotated British, Commonwealth and European cases  shelved in the main Reading Room Cw UK 150 E58a3. This service uses the same subject headings as Halsbury’s Laws

Need to find key legislation?

            Halsbury’s Statutes - shelved in the main Reading Room Cw UK 030 H196b. This services uses the same subject headings as Halsbury’s Laws

  • Lexis®Library  
      
    For OU members only. Among the UK Sources are Halsbury's Laws of England, Halsbury's Statutes, Halsbury's Is it in force?, Halsbury's Annotations, Halsbury's Statutes & SI Citators & Halsbury's Weekly Review. It is possible to brows titles individually or search across one or more.
  • BIS: Company and partnership law
    Free resource. Department for Business Information and Skills (BIS) portal to "Information on the law governing the establishment and operation of limited companies and partnerships - including Limited Partnerships and Limited Liability Partnerships (LLPs). Includes current policy developments, the implementation and evaluation of the Companies Act 2006 and European company law."
  • FRC's Publications on Corporate Governance
    Free resource. The Financial Reporting Council is the UK’s independent regulator responsible for promoting high quality corporate governance inter alia. Publications available to download include UK Corporate Governance Code.

Contact us

Profile Image
Ruth Bird
Contact Info
Bodleian Law Library,
St Cross Building,
Manor Road,
Oxford OX1 3UR
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip