First steps in Law Bod
New to Oxford? Click on the tabs (above) or links (below - which are arranged alphabetically) to find how to begin on the right paths in the real and virtual Law Bod.
- Africa
- Americas
- Asia & Far East
- Australia, NZ & Pacific
- Contacting the LawBod
- E-books for law
- English & UK law
- European Community / European Union law
- European nations
- How do I ... ??:basic library skills
- International law: public & private
- Jurisprudence (Legal Philosophy)
- Law journals, & e-journals & finding articles
- Off campus: working from home or on holiday
- Official Papers & EDC
- Passwords for OU students
- Religious legal systems
- Roman law
- Theses: how to find them
- Russia & CIS
- USA, Canada, Central & South America
Law at Oxford University
Law students at Oxford are supported in their legal studies by their own (private) college libraries and the university library which is
The Bodleian Law Library
The Law Bod (as it is usually called!) holds the largest collection of printed legal materials at Oxford. It is also the principal library for legal philosophy, and has the research collection for criminology. The Law Bod is also the home of the Bodleian's Official Papers Collection (since 2010).
The entire collection is reference only: we do not lend, no one may borrow!
Importantly, the Law Bod also provides a wide range of electronic legal databases for current members of the University.
Admission to the Law Bod. Readers require a valid University Card or Bodleian Reader's Pass. The Central Admissions Office deals with applications for admission to the LawBod.
Full details of the Law Bod's opening hours etc are available on our website. The general guide below - which includes a floorplan - may be downloaded and printed before a visit to the LawBod. Please contact aracu@bodleian.ox.ac.uk for requests for Braille and audio.
Other libraries available to law students at Oxford
The LawBod may be the principal "home" for the law student at Oxford, but a number of other libraries in Oxford can be useful for legal researchers. Below is a list of some which may prove useful - the list is not exhaustive: part of the joy of Oxford is discovering its libraries!
- The Bodleian LibraryThe main Bodleian (in the centre of Oxford) provides further support for legal studies which overlap with law eg classical studies, history, politics and international relations.
Visit the webpages for further details of opening hours, services etc - Bodleian Social Science LibraryThe SSL's collection includes criminology and socio-legal studies, as well as many disciplines which can be necessary for understanding the wider context of law eg politics, economics, and refugee studies. Visit their webpages for further details of opening hours, services etc
- The Sainsbury LibraryThe Sainsbury Library's collection supports the courses in management and business studies. Visit the webpages for further details of opening hours, services etc
- Vere Harmsworth LibraryFocuses on the history of the United States. Visit the webpages for further details of opening hours, services etc
- Philosophy Faculty LibraryAlthough Jurisprudence (legal philosophy) is held by the LawBod, this Library is the major Bodleian collection for other aspects of philosophy.Visit the webpages for further details of opening hours, services etc
- Sackler LibraryFor students with an interest in the laws of the Classical World, Roman law in particular.
Visit the webpages for further details of opening hours, services etc - History Faculty LibraryVisit the webpages for further details of opening hours, services etc
- Rhodes House LibraryFor history of the Commonwealth and sub-Saharan Africa
Visit the webpages for further details of opening hours, services etc - Codrington LibraryThis private College library is very strong in law and history.
Law students at Oxford may apply for admission. The Codrington issues its own library cards, at its own discretion. Visit its webpages for further details of opening hours etc - Nuffield College LibraryParticularly strong in economics, politics and sociology, postgraduates studying at other Oxford Colleges and Oxford teaching staff can apply for admission.
Bodleian Law Library |
Contact Info Main Enquiries, Bodleian Law Library Telephone: +44 (0) 1865 271462 Fax: +44 (0) 1865 271475 Post: Bodleian Law Library, St. Cross Building, Manor Rd Oxford OX1 3UR Send Email |
Oxford's Law Faculty
- Oxford LawFree resource. Comprehensive coverage of OU Law Faculty's activities. Guides for those thinking of studying law at Oxford.
- Oxford law - intranetAreas are restricted to current members of Oxford's law faculty only.
- Faculty of Law WebLearn Current OU law faculty members only.





Loading...
