Skip to main content

Latin American Studies: Home

PCAS: printing, copying & scanning facilities in the Bodleian Libraries

For information about PCAS, see »

Other links

Bodleian iSkills (Workshops in Information Discovery and Scholarly Communications) - These workshops are aimed at researchers, academic staff, research students and librarians from across the University.

Research and Resources Guides -  a wide range of research, resource and library guides are available from our  LibGuides service.

Collection overview

The Bodleian Latin American Centre Library develops its Latin American Studies teaching and research collections (history, politics, economics and development) primarily in support of the two Masters courses run by the Latin American Centre and the Brazilian Studies Programme (MPhil and MSc in Latin American Studies). The Library also offers support to DPhil students studying Latin American Studies throughout the University and undergraduates studying Latin American options offered by other departments. The Library orders books (including books on Latin American History) recommended by the Centre fellows and the subject consultant and supports all Centre reading lists.

The Latin American subject consultant, in consultation with the Centre fellows, also orders books for the Bodleian Library’s Latin American Research Collections.

Important eResources

Access to electronic library resources is through OxLIP+. To access many of these resources when you are not logged on to the university network you will need to register for the Oxford Single Sign-On.

PRISMA – (Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanísticas): full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America, and the Caribbean Basin

HAPI – (Hispanic American Periodicals Index): over 275,000 journal article citations about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States; over 60,000 links to the full text of articles appearing in more than 600 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world

Latin American Studies (Oxford Bibliographies OnLine) – Oxford Bibliographies in Latin American Studies is a reference tool that helps users find, negotiate, and assess the large amount of information readily available to them. It facilitates research by providing direct links to SOLO, the Oxford library catalogue, and Oxford e-resources, as well as WorldCat and Google Books.

EMIS – Emerging Markets Information Service: Business intelligence for emerging markets, including Latin and Central America; top news stories in English and Spanish updated daily, plus company profiles, macroeconomic stats, market indices and more

FBIS – Foreign Broadcast Information Service Region 5 Daily Reports 1974–1996: translated broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements from nations in Latin America. Media sources monitored and issued by an agency of the US government. The reports offer unique perspectives on international affairs as events unfolded from 1974-1996. (See FBIS Guide)

Further important eresources appear on eResources & Links page.

Associated collections

The Latin American Studies collections of the Bodleian Libraries as a whole are interdisciplinary and are spread across a number of different sites. These collections are developed by the subject consultant for each particular discipline. They include the extensive Latin American History research collection held by the Bodleian Library, as well as the following:

Subject Guide

Frank Egerton's picture
Frank Egerton
Contact:
Bodleian Latin American Centre Library,
University of Oxford,
St Antony's College,
Oxford.
OX2 6JF,
United Kingdom
+44 (0)1865 274483
Website / Blog Page