Trying to find SOLO? http://solo.bodleian.ox.ac.uk
Chat to a Librarian:
SOLO workshops - Book a place at our Getting Started workshop.
Items which are not held in Oxford? - If you wish to use an item which is not held in Oxford, it may be possible to request an interlibrary loan
SOLO Feedback - Please email firstname.lastname@example.org.
This video tutorial below (Finding & using journal articles: using SOLO to access articles in print, online and via Electronic Legal Deposit) covers searching SOLO for specific journal articles, for examples from a reading list or bibliography. It covers the different methods for finding journal articles and how to make the most of both printed and electronic articles. It does not cover doing a literature search for journal articles on a topic.
Please note that the tutorial opens in a new window. If you would prefer to read written instructions rather than viewing the video, please skip to the text instructions.
You can search SOLO using the Oxford Collections tab, the Articles & More tab or the Search everything tab
The three tabs are also searched in different ways.
If you are searching for journal articles, it is important to remember that when you search Oxford Collections you should search using the journal title, not the article title. For example if you were searching for the article Frank, M. & Reinisch, J. (2014) ‘Refugees and the Nation-State in Europe, 1919–59’, Journal of Contemporary History, vol. 49, no. 3, pp. 477-490 you would search Oxford collections for Journal of Contemporary History
However, if you were using the Articles & More tab you should search by article title. For example, if you were looking for the same article, that is Frank, M. & Reinisch, J. (2014) ‘Refugees and the Nation-State in Europe, 1919–59’, Journal of Contemporary History, vol. 49, no. 3, pp. 477-490, you would search by the article title, namely “Refugees and the Nation State in Europe"
Searching Articles & More is very convenient, but it is far from comprehensive, so in most cases you should search using the Oxford Collections tab and enter the journal title.
Enter the journal title in the Oxford Collections search box. If the journal has a very common name it can be useful to choose the option Journals from the first drop down menu beneath the search box.
In many cases you will find that there is more than one version of the journal, click View all... versions to see the different versions.
In the screen shot below, you will see three "versions" of the Journal of Contemporary History.
In most cases you will want to use the electronic subscription version of the journal.
To use a subscription or open access ejournal
To use the printed version of a journal:
To use the electronic legal deposit version of a journal:
Once you have connected to the article, you will be able to read it on screen.
Printing Electronic Legal Deposit Items
You can make a print out of an electronic Legal Deposit item by using the Print option at the top of the page. Once you have clicked the print icon, there will be a short pause, after which you will be prompted to enter your PCAS username and password. This is the account that you use to pay for self service photocopies, print outs and scans in the Bodleian Libraries. You can find out more about PCAS and set up your account on the Bodleian Libraries PCAS web pages.
Alternatively, you can request a print out using the Bodleian Libraries Print and Deliver service. The print out will then be sent to you by post. Please note
The charges for the print and deliver service are:
You will need to pay for your print outs using a PCAS account. This is the account that you use to pay for self service photocopies, print outs and scans in the Bodleian Libraries. You can find out more about PCAS and set up your account on the Bodleian Libraries PCAS web pages.
To order a print out:
If at any point you wish to find an alternative copy of an electronic Legal Deposit article which is subject to fewer restrictions, click How else can I get this? This will prompt SOLO to search for a subscription or open access copy of the article.
Sometimes, having found an electronic Legal Deposit article on SOLO, you may wish to find other articles in the same issue of the journal. To find other articles in the same issue:
What to do if you can't find the journal or article that you require.
If you are unable to find the journal or article that you require please contact a member of staff. We may well be able to locate a copy for you or acquire a copy for you using our Inter Library Loan service.