Skip to main content

John Johnson Collection of Printed Ephemera for English Literature students: Home

How to use printed ephemera from the John Johnson Collection in the study of English literature

news

Loading

A Gaiety Girl. Theatrical souvenir (Dudley Hardy)

Overview

The John Johnson Collection of Printed Ephemera has many resources for the study of literature. This guide will show you how to maximise the potential of the Collection for your research and to identify what is and what is not online.

It is not intended that this Guide should replace the John Johnson Collection website, where all general and user information can be found.

 

 

To get you started

How can you use the John Johnson Collection?

Here are two excellent examples:

Clive Hurst's 2012 exhibition: Dickens and his world used ephemera from the John Johnson Collection extensively to contextualise Dickens novels. Missed the exhibition?  Have a look at the accompanying book, The curious world of Dickens by Clive Hurst and Violet Moller.

Dame Professor Marina Warner's essay Imagining the Orient goes far beyond its theme in showing how ephemera can inform the literary historian.

Key web sites

John Johnson Collection website: http://www.bodleian.ox.ac.uk/johnson

 

The John Johnson Collection: an archive of printed ephemera (ProQuest). With SSO: http://johnjohnson.chadwyck.co.uk/  

From anywhere in the UK: http://johnjohnson.chadwyck.co.uk/geoLocSubscription.do

Visual Arts Data Service (VADS): http://www.vads.ac.uk/

JJ Coll LibGuides landing page (with links to guides): http://ox.libguides.com/jj

 

Subject Guide

Julie Anne Lambert's picture
Julie Anne Lambert
Contact:
John Johnson Collection
Bodleian Libraries
Broad Street
Oxford
OX1 3BG
UK
+44 (0)1865 277047
Website / Blog Page