Book now for the FREE Humanities Research Fair 27 Jan 2-5pm.
Discover the wealth and riches of research and library resources available in Oxford. Meet the experts and network with your peers. Network over a cup of tea.
The Fair is an excellent opportunity for Humanities postgraduate students to gain a wider perspective on the wealth and riches of research sources available for their field of study.
At the Fair you can learn about resources you may not yet have yet considered and meet the curators of collections who can guide you towards relevant material or useful finding tools.
Over 40 stalls will cover many areas: Special collections (archives & early printed books, maps, museums); Topical stalls (e.g. resources for English literature, Theology, History, Modern Languages, Biography); Geographical stalls (e.g. US studies, Latin American, Far & Near Eastern, European); General resources (e.g. Information skills, Open Access, Top 10 Tips from a Graduate)
The Bodleian Humanities Libraries serve the largest concentration of Humanities scholars in the world with a wide range of academic interests. Particular strengths of our services are our extensive collections of printed and archival materials and electronic resources as well as the support provided by our library staff including over 35 expert subject librarians.
Taylor Institution Library, including Taylor Bodleian Slavonic and Modern Greek Library
Finding and borrowing books, journals and other item
General guidance on using SOLO, the primary library catalogue for the University of Oxford covering the physical and electronic holdings of the Bodleian Libraries and most other Oxford Libraries.
Detailed guidance on finding journals and articles in print and online.
Detailed guidance on using e-books, e-journals and databases using SOLO and Databases A-Z.
Guidance on finding and using the Bodleian Libraries' specialist collections including manuscripts, rare books, archives and printed ephemera; maps; music; data and statistics; legal materials; official, parliamentary and government papers; audio visual materials; patents.
Information about Oxford Libraries
Information about Oxford Libraries including opening times.
Printing, Photocopying and Scanning
Information about the Bodleian Libraries PCAS system for printing, photocopying and scanning.
IT, Computing, WiFi and Passwords
Guidance on connecting your laptop or device to the Eduroam or Bodleian Libraries wifi networks in the Bodleian Libraries.
Information on logging on to and using the Bodleian Libraries' public computers which provide access to Office 2007 (Word, Excel, Access), Mozilla Firefox, Internet Explorer, Endnote, Nuance PDF Creator, GIMP, iTunes.
Information about the passwords used to order items from the closed stacks; renew books; access e-resources from off campus; log on to public computers and wifi; and to make photocopies, print outs and scans using PCAS.
Workshops and classes
Bodleian Libraries run a range of workshops in information discovery and scholarly communications covering literature searching, reference management, current awareness, research impact, copyright and intellectual property, open access and research data management.
Information for disabled readers