Skip to main content

History Information Skills & Library inductions: For history undergraduates & visiting students

Research Skills for Your Thesis

This 2-hour session is designed to equip students working on their dissertation with key information skills in order to make best use of electronic information and discovery resources. A range of databases, e-journals and web portals will be explored as well as advanced features in SOLO and tools for literature searches. Time for hands-on practise will be included.

Workshop materials: slides (pptx) - handout (pdf)

This session will run on 29 May 2019 in the Lecture Theatre, History Faculty.

Sign up here

Researching Archives

This talk outlines how the nature of different archives and their administration influences the discovery and use of them. Attention will be paid to basic rules of handling of archives, facilities in the Weston Library reading rooms and resources for improving palaeographical skills. The second half of the talk introduces some key finding aids and key archival collections in the Weston Library and in the UK. The talk will end with a look at web archives and the future of archival research.

Wed. 5 June 2-3.30pm (week 6), Lecture Theatre, History Faculty

Sign up here

Bodleian iSkills for Historians

Upcoming workshops in Trinity Term 2019

Our courses are FREE, but booking online is essential - please click on the links to book online

Week 2  (6-10 May)
Week 3  (13-17 May)
Week 4  (20-24 May)
Week 5  (28-31 May)
Week 6  (3-7 June)
Week 7  (10-14 June)

Workshops by Topic

Searching and finding scholarly materials (general)
Searching and finding scholarly materials (specific subjects)
Materials in special formats (images, manuscripts, maps etc.)
Reference management (RefWorks, Endnote, Zotero, Mendeley)
Research data management
Keeping up to date with the latest research
Measuring impact
Open Access
Copyright

Handouts are uploaded to the Bodleian iSkills Handouts Page

About iSkills

Bodleian iSkills is a series of free information skills workshops designed to help postgraduates and researchers find and make effective use of scholarly publications and other materials.  We cover :

  • Information discovery and searching for scholarly materials
  • Endnote, RefWorks, Zotero, Mendeley, ColWiz and Papers for managing references and formatting footnotes and bibliographies
  • Keeping up to date with new research
  • Measuring research impact 
  • Understanding copyright and looking after your intellectual property
  • Open Access publishing and complying with funder mandates for open access
  • Managing your research data

Where can I view the timetable?  View the timetable by selecting the Workshops by Date tab above.

Who may attend? All members of the University and Bodleian Library Readers. Some individual workshops are designed for particular groups (e.g. postgraduates). Check the individual sessions in the Workshops by Date tab above.

Cost - all iSkills sessions are free.

Booking a place - Booking is essential. Use the online booking links for each session in the Workshops by Date tab above.  When you make your booking, you will be prompted to sign in with your Oxford single sign on (SSO) username.  All current members of Oxford University should have an SSO, but Bodleian Libraries readers who are not current members of Oxford University will not have an SSO.    If you do not have a SSO but would like to attend a course please contact User Education and we will book a place on your behalf.

Handouts - are available from the handouts page after each session.

Loading ...

Bodleian iSkills

Bodleian iSkills - Workshops in Information Discovery & Scholarly Communications 

This programme is designed to help you to make effective use of scholarly materials. We cover

  • Information discovery and searching for scholarly materials
  • Endnote, RefWorks, Zotero and Mendeley for managing references and formatting footnotes and bibliographies
  • Keeping up to date with new research
  • Measuring research impact
  • Understanding copyright and looking after your intellectual property
  • Open Access publishing and complying with funder mandates for open access
  • Managing your research data

Check the timetable for scheduled courses.

1-1 surgery with History Faculty Librarian-in-Charge

If you would like a one-to-one session to get help on any aspect of library resources and tools (SOLO, databases, ejournals, etc.) and generally get advice and tips for locating sources for British and Western European history, then sign up for a 1-1 session with the History Faculty Librarian-in-Charge.

You can find details of Bodleian Libraries' subject specialists online for other areas and contact them directly for advice and to arrange appointments. Individual sessions can be arranged by emailing the History Faculty Librarian-in-charge (rachel.darcy-brown@bodleian.ox.ac.uk).

Need to brush up your Français? Have to learn Deutsch?

The University's Language Centre has a lot to offer for historians wishing to upgrade their language skills or, quite simply, start learning a language. There are several courses for historians, and a variety of regular Languages for All courses for all skill ranges.

They also have a lending library encouraging self-learning with a lot of language learning resources for 180 languages, including books and CDs, a very nice film collection and satellite television available in several languages. They also encourage online learning.

And finally, they have a successful language exchange programme which allows you to speak with native speakers.

Making Maps: self-teaching resources from the Bodleian Map Department

A huge range of online tutorials and videos are available to support self-teaching in GIS.

There are tutorials for ArcGIS Desktop and QGIS.

More assistance in learning how to find, use or create maps is available from staff in the Bodleian Library's Map Department.