Skip to main content

History databases desiderata & trials: Home & current trials

Subjects: History - General

eResources news

Loading ...

Suggest other resources

If a database or ejournal is not yet on the History Desiderata, you can recommend an electronic resource.

How to evaluate a database

Is the content:

  • scholarly
  • authoritative & peer-reviewed
  • accurate
  • up-to-date
  • complete
  • supported by editorials, documentation, guides.

Is there good functionality for

  • ease of use
  • searching & browsing
  • viewing, zooming, resizing
  • saving, emailing, printing
  • alerts
  • clear display & navigation

Tips:

  • Read editorial, helpfiles and FAQs
  • Test the same search using different methods

Is it relevant for other disciplines?

Trial until 30 Nov. 2019: Alexander III and the Policy of "Russification," 1883-1886

A collection of documents from the British Foreign Office consisting of the bound volumes of correspondence for the 1883-1886 period under the title “Alexander III and the policy of Russification".

The trial end on 30 November. Please send comments to angelina.gibson@bodleian.ox.ac.uk and alexander.morrison@new.ox.ac.uk.

Access is via SOLO

Trial until 30 Nov: World War I and Revolution in Russia, 1914-1918: Records of the British Foreign Office

This resource provides access to a collection of documents from the British Foreign Office reporting on Russia’s entry into WW1 and the Russian Revolution events in 1917-1918.

The trials end on 30 November. Please send comments to angelina.gibson@bodleian.ox.ac.uk and alexander.morrison@new.ox.ac.uk.

Access is via SOLO.

Trial until 29 Nov 2019: Bloomsbury Medieval Studies

This is a new interdisciplinary digital resource with a global perspective covering the medieval period. It brings together high-quality secondary content with visual primary sources, a new reference work and pedagogical resources into one cross-searchable platform, to support students and researchers across this rich field of study.

Specifically, the resource contains over 150 scholarly works (incl. primary texts, research monographs, companions) which have been published by Bloomsbury and other publishers such as IB Tauris, Arc Humanities Press, Amsterdam University Press. It also contains a newly published reference work (The Encyclopedia of the Global Middle Age) and over a 1000 images sourced from collections in the British Library, Metropolitan Museum of Art and Senate House Library (London).

The trial ends on 29 November 2019. Feedback should be sent to isabel.holowaty@bodleian.ox.ac.uk.

Access is via SOLO.

Trial until 27 Nov 2019: Paris Peace Conference and Beyond, 1919-1939

The Paris Peace Conference was a meeting of Allied diplomats that took place in the aftermath of the First World War. Its purpose was to impose peace terms on the vanquished Central Powers and establish a new international order.

This online resource draws on material chiefly from The National Archives: FO 373 (Foreign Office: Peace Conference; Handbooks): FO 608 (Foreign Office: Peace Conference; British Delegation, Correspondence and Papers); FO 893 (Foreign Office: Ambassadors to the Peace Conference, 1919; Minutes of Proceedings); CAB 29/139 (Cabinet Office: International Conferences; Minutes and Papers; Lausanne Conference, 1932).

Access is via SOLO.

How can I recommend an eresource?

If you wish to make a recommendation for a History resource to be considered which is not listed in this Desidarata, please use our Recommend an EResource.

Introduction

The Bodleian History Librarian aims to provide a range of electronic resources to support the teaching and research of the History Faculty and primarily for British and Western European history and history of science & medicine.

Existing subscriptions are listed in SOLO and Databases A-Z. If you have any difficulties connecting to a database, please contact eResources.

Oxford readers, esp. staff and students of the History Faculty, are invited to give feedback on the electronic resources desiderata list and participate in trials.

Some comments may be passed to the eresources provider if they help in improving the resource. Feedback will also be collated for discussion in the Committee of Library Provision for History which meets Tuesdays, week 5, each term.

Please note that financial information will not be disclosed at this stage though it clearly is a major factor in deciding whether a purchase / subscription will be taken. Costs can range anything from a few hundred pounds to several thousand of pounds.

Enquiries relating to eResources for countries other than British and Western European and relating to History of Art, should be directed to the relevant subject librarian.

Isabel Holowaty
Bodleian History Librarian

6 November 2019

Need help?

Isabel Holowaty's picture
Isabel Holowaty
Contact:
Upper Reading Room, Room 2.03 (North / History end)
Bodleian Library, Broad Street
Oxford, OX1 3BG
01865 2-77294
Website Skype Contact: iholowaty