Skip to main content

History collections on open-shelves in the Old Bodleian, Radcliffe Camera and Weston Library: History Faculty Library

The History Faculty Library is one of the Bodleian Libraries.

Located in the Radcliffe Camera, this library houses the University of Oxford's main collection of undergraduate lending materials in both Medieval and Modern History, as well as in the History of Art and History of Science. > more

It also serves as a lending resource for graduate students and Members of the Faculty of History but also other departments and faculties.

Interested in visiting the library? Check out our Admissions policy.

Classification

The lending collection of the HFL is classified to the Library of Congress Classification Scheme. The exceptions are the Local history collections which are shelved in sequences KL-KW.

Please note that historical treatment of a subject may be contained within the main subject itself, ie historians tend to use the entire range of this classification scheme. Shelfmarks starting with the certain letters are particularly useful to historians:

A -- GENERAL WORKS

B -- PHILOSOPHY. PSYCHOLOGY. RELIGION [includes history of the church, religious history, etc.]

C -- AUXILIARY SCIENCES OF HISTORY [see sub-classes]

D -- WORLD HISTORY AND HISTORY OF EUROPE, ASIA, AFRICA, AUSTRALIA, NEW ZEALAND, ETC. [see sub-classes]

E -- HISTORY OF THE AMERICAS (United States) [see subclasses]

F -- HISTORY OF THE AMERICAS (US local history, Canada, South America) [see subclasses]

G -- GEOGRAPHY. ANTHROPOLOGY. RECREATION

H -- SOCIAL SCIENCES [includes historical treatments. See subclasses.]

J -- POLITICAL SCIENCE [includes political history. See subclasses.]

K -- LAW [includes legal history]

L -- EDUCATION [includes history of education, universities, etc.]

M -- MUSIC AND BOOKS ON MUSIC

N -- FINE ARTS [includes history of art & architecture]

P -- LANGUAGE AND LITERATURE [includes biographies of historians]

Q -- SCIENCE [includes history of science]

R -- MEDICINE [includes history of medicine]

S -- AGRICULTURE

T -- TECHNOLOGY  [includes history of technology]

U -- MILITARY SCIENCE [includes military history and warfare]

V -- NAVAL SCIENCE [includes naval history and warfare]

Z -- BIBLIOGRAPHY. LIBRARY SCIENCE. INFORMATION RESOURCES (GENERAL)

C - AUXILIARY SCIENCES OF HISTORY

CB3-482      History of Civilization

CC1-960      Archaeology

CD1-6471    Diplomatics.  Archives.  Seals

CE1-97         Technical Chronology.  Calendar

CJ1-6661     Numismatics

CN1-1355    Inscriptions.  Epigraphy

CR1-6305   Heraldry

CS1-3090   Genealogy

CT21-9999  Biography

D -- WORLD HISTORY AND HISTORY OF EUROPE, ASIA, AFRICA, AUSTRALIA, NEW ZEALAND, ETC.

D111-203        Medieval history

D219-234       1453-1648

D242-283.5    1601-1715.  17th century

D284-297       1715-1789.  18th century

D301-309       Period of the French Revolution

D351-400       19th century.  1801-1914/1920

D410-(475)     20th century

D501-680       World War I (1914-1918)

D720-728       Period between World Wars (1919-1939)

D731-838       World War II (1939-1945)

D839-860       Post-war history (1945-    )

 

DA1-995                  History of Great Britain

DAW1001-1051     History of Central Europe

DB1-879                 Austria.  Austro-Hungarian Empire

DB2000-3150        Czechoslovakia

DC1-947                 History of France

DD1-(905)              History of Germany

DF10-951               History of Greece

DG11-999               History of Italy

DH1-925                 History of Low Countries.  Benelux Countries

DJ1-(500)               History of Netherlands (Holland)

DJK1-77                 History of Eastern Europe (General)

DK1-949.5             History of Russia.  Soviet Union.  Former Soviet Republics

DL1-1180              History of Northern Europe.  Scandinavia

DP1-402                History of Spain

DQ1-851                History of Switzerland

DR1-2285             History of Balkan Peninsula



DS1-937                History of Asia

DS41-66                Middle East.  Southwestern Asia.  Ancient Orient.  Arab East.  Near East

DS67-79.9             Iraq (Assyria, Babylonia, Mesopotamia)

DS80-90                Lebanon (Phenicia)

DS92-99               Syria

DS101-151          Israel (Palestine).  The Jews

DS153-154.9       Jordan.  Transjordan

DS201-248          Arabian Peninsula.  Saudi Arabia

DS251-326          Iran (Persia)

DS327-329.4      Central Asia

DS350-375         Afghanistan

DS376-392.2     Pakistan

DS393-396.9    Bangladesh.  East Pakistan

DS401-(486.8)  India (Bharat)

DS488-490        Sri Lanka

DS520-560.72  Southeast Asia

DS527-530.9    Burma

DS554-554.98  Cambodia

DS555-555.98  Laos

DS556-559.93  Vietnam.  Annam

DS561-589        Thailand (Siam)

DS591-599        Malaysia.  Malay Peninsula.  Straits Settlements

DS608-610.9     Singapore

DS611-649        Indonesia (Dutch East Indies)

DS651-689       Philippines

DS701-799.9   China

DS801-897      Japan

DS901-937     Korea


DT1-3415             History of Africa

DT43-154 Egypt

DT154.1-159.9 Sudan. Anglo-Egyptian Sudan

DT160-177 North Africa

DT179.2-179.9 Northwest Africa

DT181-346 Maghrib. Barbary States

DT211-239 Libya

DT241-269 Tunisia (Tunis)

DT271-299 Algeria

DT301-330 Morocco

DT365-469 Eastern Africa

DT371-390 Ethiopia (Abyssinia)

DT391-398 Eritrea

DT401-409 Somalia. Somaliland and adjacent territory

DT421-432.5 East Africa. British East Africa

DT433.2-433.29 Uganda

DT433.5-434 Kenya

DT436-449 Tanzania. Tanganyika. German East Africa

DT450-450.49 Rwanda. Ruanda-Urundi

DT450.5-450.95 Burundi

DT470-671 West Africa. West Coast

DT491-516.9 British West Africa

DT509-509.9 Gambia

DT509.97-512.9 Ghana (Gold Coast)

DT515-515.9 Nigeria

DT516-516.9 Sierra Leone

DT521-555.9 French West Africa. French Sahara. West Sahara. Sahel

DT543-543.9 Guinea

DT545-545.9 Côte d'Ivoire. Ivory Coast

DT546.1-546.49 French-speaking Equatorial Africa

DT546.1-546.19 Gabon (Gaboon, Gabun)

DT546.2-546.29 Congo (Brazzaville). Middle Congo

DT546.3-546.39 Central African Republic. Central African Empire.

DT546.4-546.49 Chad (Tchad)

DT547-547.9 Niger

DT549-549.9 Senegal

DT551-551.9 Mali. Mali Federation. Sudanese Republic. French Sudan

DT554-554.9 Mauritania

DT561-581 Cameroon (Cameroun, Kamerun)

DT582-582.9 Togo. Togoland

DT591-615.9 Portuguese-speaking West Africa

DT619-620.9 Spanish West Africa

DT621-637 Liberia

DT641-665 Zaire. Congo (Democratic Republic). Belgian Congo

DT1001-1190 Southern Africa

DT1251-1465 Angola

DT1501-1685 Namibia. South-West Africa

DT1701-2405 South Africa

DT2421-2525 Botswana. Bechuanaland

DT2541-2686 Lesotho. Basutoland

DT2701-2825 Swaziland

DT2831-2864 British Central Africa. Federation of Rhodesia and Nyasaland

DT2871-3025 Zimbabwe. Southern Rhodesia

DT3031-3145 Zambia. Northern Rhodesia

DT3161-3257 Malawi. Nyasaland

DT3291-3415 Mozambique

E - UNITED STATES

E151-889    United States

E186-199        Colonial history (1607-1775)

E201-298        The Revolution, 1775-1783

E303-309        1775-1789.  The Confederation, 1783-1789

E310-337        1789-1809.  Constitutional period

E337.8-400     Early nineteenth century, 1801/1809-1845

E415.6-440.5  Middle nineteenth century, 1845/1848-1861

E456-655        Civil War period, 1861-1865

E660-738        Late nineteenth century, 1865-1900

E740-837.7     Twentieth century

E838-889        Later twentieth century, 1961-2000

F - LOCAL US HISTORY & REST OF AMERICAS

F1-975    United States local history

F1001-1145.2    Canada

F1201-3799    Latin America.  Spanish America

F1201-1392    Mexico

F1421-1440    Central America

F1601-1629    West Indies

F2201-3799    South America

F2251-2299    Colombia

F2301-2349    Venezuela

F2501-2659    Brazil

F2661-2699    Paraguay

F2701-2799    Uruguay

F2801-3021    Argentina

F3031-3031.5    Falkland Islands

F3051-3285    Chile

F3301-3359    Bolivia

F3401-3619    Peru

F3701-3799    Ecuador

H - SOCIAL SCIENCES

HB75-130             History of economics.  History of economic theory

HC10-1085          Economic history and conditions

HD28-9999          Industries.  Land use.  Labor

HD101-1395.5     Land use

HD1401-2210      Agriculture

HD2321-4730.9   Industry

HD2350.8-2356   Large industry.  Factory system.  Big business

HD2951-3575      Cooperation.  Cooperative societies

HD4801-8943      Labor.  Work.  Working class

HE1-9990             Transportation and communications

HF1-6182             Commerce

HF5469.7-5481   Markets.  Fairs

HG1-9999            Finance

HG201-1496        Money

HG1501-3550     Banking

HG8011-9999     Insurance

HJ9-9940             Public finance

HJ210-240                History

HJ7461-7980      Expenditures.  Government spending

HM(1)-1281         Sociology

HN1-995              Social history and conditions.  Social problems. Social reform

HQ1-2044           The Family.  Marriage.  Women

HQ12-449           Sexual life

HQ503-1064       The family.  Marriage.  Home

HQ1101-2030.7  Women.  Feminism

HT101-395          Urban groups.  The city.  Urban sociology

HT401-485          Rural groups.  Rural sociology

HT601-1445       Classes

HT851-1445       Slavery

HT1501-1595     Races

HV40-69              Social service.  Social work.  Charity organization and practice

HV7231-9960     Criminal justice administration

HV8301-9920.7  Penology.  Prisons.  Corrections

HX1-970.7           Socialism.  Communism.  Anarchism

J - POLITICAL SCIENCES

JA1 92        Political science (General)
JA81 84            History

JC11 605    Political theory.  The state.  Theories of the state

JA92            Collective biography of political scientists
JC109 121        Medieval state
JC131 273        Modern state    

JC319 323  Political geography

JC327        Sovereignty

JC329        Patriotism

JF20 2112    Political institutions and public administration
JF51 56            General works.  History

JF1338 2112        Public administration
JF1501 1521            Civil service
JF2011 2112            Political parties

JK1 9993    Political institutions and public administration (United States)

JL1 3899    Political institutions and public administration (Canada, Latin America, etc.)

JN1 9689    Political institutions and public administration (Europe)
JN101 1371        Great Britain
JN1187 1371        Scotland
JN1395 1571.5        Ireland

JQ21 6651    Political institutions and public administration (Asia, Africa, Australia, Pacific Area, etc.)

JS39 8500    Local government.  Municipal government
JS55 68        History    

JV1 5397        Colonies and colonization

JV6001 9480        Emigration and immigration.  International migration
JV6021 6033            History

JZ5 6530    International relations
JZ63 1153        Sources

JZ1305 2060        Scope of international relations. Political theory. Diplomacy   
JZ1329.5 1395            By period

JZ1400 1454        Diplomatic and consular service

JZ3674 3875        State territory and its parts

All  HFL books in the Lower Camera and Gladstone Link are

BORROWABLE

books, if you are a registered HFL reader.

Registered readers can borrow the books from the self-service or staff-mediated desks in the Lower Camera. More on our lending service.

You can also use them anywhere in the Old Library, Gladstone Link, Radcliffe Camera and Gladstone Link.

Library of Congress Classification

The main HFL lending collection is classified using the Library of Congress Classification (LCC) scheme

LCC is subject-based classification scheme that allows the collections to be browsed.

Please note that the Local History section is not in LCC though the shelfmark range (KL-KW) looks very similar.

History Faculty Library

 Credit: Simon Bentley

 Radcliffe Camera, Oxford, OX1 3BG

W: Website - E: email T: 01865 (2)77262

Blog - Facebook logo Twitter: @HFLOxford