This is the "Home" page of the "History (British & W EU) at Oxford - overview" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

History (British & W EU) at Oxford - overview   Tags: england, europe, france, germany, great britain, history, ireland, italy, portugal, scotland, spain, wales, western europe  

Last Updated: Apr 11, 2013 URL: http://ox.libguides.com/history-brit-weu-overview Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Contact

Isabel D. Holowaty (Bodleian History Librarian)
isabel.holowaty@bodleian.ox.ac.uk

Profile Image
Isabel Holowaty
 

Search SOLO

 

Quick read

Cover Art
The Oxford History of Britain - Kenneth O. Morgan (Editor)
ISBN: 9780199579259
Publication Date: 2010-06-06
A 10 volume authoritative history of Britain, covering Roman times to 21st century Britain. Can't go wrong with this one.

Cover Art
A Concise History of Germany - Mary Fulbrook
ISBN: 9780521833202
Publication Date: 2004-02-19

Cover Art
A Concise History of France - Roger Price
ISBN: 0521844800
Publication Date: 2005-07-14

Cover Art
A Concise History of Italy - Christopher Duggan
ISBN: 9780521402859
Publication Date: 1994-04-21

Cover Art
A Concise History of Spain - Carla Rahn Phillips; William D. Phillips
ISBN: 9780521845137
Publication Date: 2010-07-01

 

Collection overview

The history collections aim to cover primary and secondary source material for the late Roman to the modern periods for British, Western European and some world history. Topical coverage includes social, political, economical, ecclesiastical, cultural history, etc. but also historiography, diplomatics and palaeography.

 

Principal collections

Teaching and research collections for British and Western European history are considerable at Oxford University. They are held primarily by the Bodleian Library and the History Faculty Library. Through Legal Deposit and extensive purchasing, primary and secondary source materials are acquired as comprehensively as possible.

Research collections for Western European history are actively developed in the Bodleian Library to provide excellent coverage of both national and regional history, especially of France and Germany. For more information see Upper Camera Reading Room and Upper Reading Room. Many monographs are also shelved in the Gladstone Link, which is located underground between the Old Library and the Lower Camera.

The History Faculty Library has good collections of European history for teaching purposes.

Resources guides

 

Important eResources

All Oxford's libraries provide access to a wide range of networked electronic resources which can be access from both SOLO (Oxford's local discovery tool) and OxLIP+ (Oxford e-resources gateway). The key resources are listed below:

Reference & biographical resources

Bibliographic databases

Electronic full-text sources (selections)

A full listing of databases relevant to history is available in the History subject list in OxLIP+.

Electronic journals

Most key history journals are now available electronically. JSTOR, OUP, CUP and Wiley will provide all back issues, while current issues are provided by some of the major publishers, such as Project Muse, Ingenta, etc. A full listing of e-journals is available in Oxford University e-Journals.

 

Associated collections

History of Art (Sackler Library, History Faculty Library)

History of Science (Radcliffe Science Library, Bodleian Library, History Faculty Library) - Resource guide (pdf)

History of Medicine (Radcliffe Science Library, Wellcome Unit for the History of Medicine, History Faculty Library) - Resources guides

Ancient History and Archaeology (Sackler Library, Bodleian Library) - Resource guides

Celtic Studies (Taylor Institution Library, Bodleian Library, History Faculty Library) - Resources guides

Legal history (Bodleian Law Library) - Resources guides

Archives, early printed books & rare books (Special Collections Bodleian Library) - Resources guides

Enlightenment and 18th century collections (Taylor Institution Library)

British Government Papers (Official Papers) - Resources guides

Military and Naval history collections (Codrington Library, All Souls' College)

Economic and Social History collections (Nuffield College Library)

 

Other geographical areas

History of Slavonic and Central & East European countries (Bodleian Library, Taylor Institution Slavonic & Modern Greek Library, History Faculty Library, St Antony's College Library) - Resources guides

History of the USA (Vere Harmsworth Library, History Faculty Library) - Resources guides

History of Latin America (Bodleian Library, Latin American Centre Library, History Faculty Library) - Resources guides

History of sub-Saharan Africa, the Commonwealth & former British colonial territories (Rhodes House Library, History Faculty Library - Resources guides

History of the Middle East & North Africa (Bodleian Library, Oriental Institute Library, History Faculty Library, Middle East Centre Library) - Resources guides

History of the Indian sub-continent (Bodleian Library, History Faculty Library) - Resources guide

History of China (Bodleian Library, Chinese Studies Library) - Resources guides

History of Japan (Bodleian Japanese Library) - Resources guides

 

Forthcoming courses

Loading Loading...
blank padding
Google Analytics - Bodleian Libraries use Google Analytics cookies on this web site. Google Analytics anonymously tracks individual visitor behaviour on this web site so that we can see how LibGuides is being used. We only use this information for monitoring and improving our websites and content for the benefit of our users (you).

You can opt out of Google Analytics cookies completely (from all websites) by visiting https://tools.google.com/dlpage/gaoptout

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip