Skip to main content

Medicine: Medicine

A guide to library provision for both pre-clinical and clinical medicine
Subjects: Medicine

Contact

Donald Mackay, Head of Bodleian Health Care Libraries
tel: +44 (0)1865 221950
 
Owen Coxall, Outreach and Enquiry Services Manager
tel: +44 (0)1865 740363

Karine Barker, Life Sciences and Medicine Librarian, Radcliffe Science Library
tel: +44 (0)1865 272802
email: karine.barker@bodleian.ox.ac.uk

Outreach and Subject Librarians

Owen Coxall, Outreach and Enquiry Services Manager
(+44 (0)1865 740363)
Emergency Department, Infection Control, Radiology, Health Management, Laboratory Medicine and Clinical Sciences, Geratology.

Karine Barker (+44 (0)1865 272802): Biochemistry, Pathology, Pharmacology, Preclinical Medicine, Psychology & DPAG (Physiology, Anatomy & Genetics).

Eli Harriss (+44 (0)1865 289383):
OCDEM, Renal, Urology, Dermatology, Palliative Medicine, University departments on Old Road Campus.

Liz Callow (+44 (0)1865 740471):
Acute and General Medicine, Allied Health Therapies, Paediatrics, Pharmacy, Women's Services.

Tatjana Petrinic (+44 (0)1865 740470):
Anaesthetics and Theatres, Cardiac Services, Critical Care, Intensive Care, Surgery.

Nia Roberts (+44 (0)1865 289409):
Cancer, Gastroenterology, Medical Research, Primary Care, Public Health, University departments on Old Road Campus.

Neal Thurley (+44 (0)1865 222920):
Anaesthetics, ENT, Neurosciences, Ophthalmology, Oral & Maxillofacial Surgery, Plastics, Trauma.

Subject guides

Quick links to library resources, services and training:

Pre-clinical Medicine

Clinical Medicine

Outreach Librarians

Libraries and reading rooms

Principal collections

Clinical medicine is primarily served by the Bodleian Health Care Libraries across four sites which house collections of current material. The Bodleian Health Care Libraries cater for both the University and the local NHS staff. Specialities are as follows:

Cairns Library, John Radcliffe Hospital: Acute General Medicine/Surgery (all disciplines), Obstetrics and Gynaecology, Paediatrics, Geratology, AIDS, Neurosciences, Otorhinolaryngology, Ophthalmology and coursebooks.

Knowledge Centre, Old Road Campus Research Building: Epidemiology, Evidence Based Healthcare, Health Policy, Public health medicine, Statistics, Diabetes, Oncology, Radiotherapy.

NOC Library, Nuffield Orthopaedic Centre: Orthopaedics, Musculoskeletal Sciences, Rheumatology, Neurological Diseases and Neurorehabilitation, Orthotics, Prosthetics, Physiotherapy, Occupational Therapy, Health Management, and Nursing.

Horton Library, Horton General Hospital: General Medicine, Obstetrics and Gynaecology, Nursing and Midwifery, Neonatology, Gastroenterology and Hepatology, Paediatrics, Gerontology, Cardiology, Respiratory Medicine, Trauma and Orthopaedics, Endocrinology, Psychiatry and Mental Health, Psychology, Emergency Medicine, Intensive Care Medicine, Surgery and Anaesthetics, Pathology, Microbiology, and Health Management.

Non-clinical medicine is primarily served by the Radcliffe Science Library. Its extensive collections in Life Sciences and Medicine date from the 19th Century, including legal deposit and purchased material of both historical and contemporary interest. It collects the legal deposit material in clinical medicine, and legal deposit and purchased material in non-clinical subjects such as Experimental Psychology, Human Anatomy and Genetics, Physiology, Pathology, and Pharmacology.

Important e-resources

Full text databases

All major scientific full text databases are available online with a full list appearing in OxLIP+.

Databases of interest to Medicine and Health Care include Medline and PubMed, AMED, British Nursing Index, CINAHL, Embase, HMIC, PsycInfo, Web of Knowledge, the Cochrane Library, Trip, and UpToDate. 

Electronic journals

Major scientific and medical journals are available via Oxford University e-Journals.

Please see the Bodleian Health Care Libraries and the Science Libraries websites for more information about e-resources, services and training.

Collection overview

Collection policy with appendix for Medicine:

Cairns Library

Find us: John Radcliffe Hospital

Contact us: 01865 221936 or

hcl-enquiries@bodleian.ox.ac.uk www.bodleian.ox.ac.uk/medicine

Knowledge Centre

Find us: Old Road Campus Research Building

Contact us: 01865 225815 or

hcl-enquiries@bodleian.ox.ac.uk www.bodleian.ox.ac.uk/medicine

Horton Library

Find us: Horton General Hospital

Contact us: 01295 229316

library@ouh.nhs.uk
www.ouhlibrary.com

Girdlestone Memorial (NOC) Library

Find us: Nuffield Orthopaedic Centre

Contact us: 01865 738147

hcl-enquiries@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
http://www.bodleian.ox.ac.uk/medicine

 

Radcliffe Science Library

Associated collections

 
 
Contact: 01865 274604 (Monday-Friday 14.00-17.00) or