This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Geography and the Environment" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Geography and the Environment  

Guide to the latest and most useful research resources for geography and the environment
Last Updated: Aug 20, 2013 URL: http://ox.libguides.com/geography Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Key Resources

International Encyclopedia of Human Geography

SCOPUS (includes Geobase)

Ovid SP (includes GeoRef and CAB Abstracts)

ProQuest (includes International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS), EconLit, Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, etc.)

Manual of European Environmental Policy

Sage Research Methods Online (SRMO)

Lyell Collection (full text from the Geological Society of London)

 

Guide: Remote Access

The main method of accessing subscription resources off campus is:

Single Sign On. Sign on to SOLOOxLIP+ or your University email and your browser retains the sign on. This allows you to access most e-resources as if you were on campus. 

For further information see the Bodleian Libraries remote access guide.

Other useful guides include:-

Reference Management

Oxford Research Archive

For a complete list of All Guides

 

Awards for Publications

Royal Geographical Society - IBG Gill Memorial Award  is conferred as an encouragement to geographical research in early career researchers who have shown great potential

2013
Dr. Richard Powell, University Lecturer in Human Geography, for research on historical and Polar geography.

 

Geography LibGuide

This 'Getting Started' page gives you links to key resources and information about new publications. The tabs above lead to more in-depth information about:

Finding journal articles

E-books & online reference works

Theses & dissertations

News & analysis

Statistics

Cartography

If you wish to ask a question, recommend a resource for purchase or book a research appointment, then please contact the Subject Specialist for Geography, Sue Bird.  Sue is based in the Radcliffe Science Library and runs a weekly "surgery" in the Department.  Suggestions about this online guide are also very welcome!

 

Library Assistant for New Readers

 

Library Assistant Logo

Library Assistant is our online guide to library services for new undergraduate students. It is adapted to work on smartphones and tablets so you can access it anywhere.  You can use Library Assistant to -

 

  • Find libraries around Oxford
  • Get help finding books on your reading lists
  • Get information about library WiFi, passwords and photocopying                                                                     
  • ...and much more

Visit Library Assistant at -

www.bodleian.ox.ac.uk/assistant

 

 

New Books

For the very latest additions to the Radcliffe Science Library in all aspects of Geography please visit http://www.refworks.com/refshare2?site=040601159502400000/110091342526415295/069491340131345000

Cover Art
Arid and Semi-Arid Geomorphology - Andrew Goudie
Call Number: GB 611 GOU 2013
ISBN: 9781107005549
Publication Date: 2013-05-27
A state -of-the-art synthesis of four decades of research with an international perspective from a world leader in the subject.

Cover Art
Working Lives : gender, migration and employment in Britain, 1945-2007 - Linda McDowell
Call Number: RSL : HD 9980.5 McD 2013
ISBN: 9781444339185
Publication Date: 2013-07-15
This book draws on more than two decades of in-depth research to explore the changing nature of women's employment in post-war Britain and presents an example of theoretically located empirical analysis of labour market change in contemporary Britain.

Cover Art
The Wiley-Blackwell Companion to Cultural Geography - Nuala C. Johnson; Richard H. Schein; Jamie Winders
Call Number: RSL Level 2 GF41 WIL 2013
ISBN: 9780470655597
Publication Date: 2013-04-29

Geography Librarian

 

Department

School of Geography and the Environment

Oxford University Centre for the Environment
(Dyson Perrins Bldg.)
University of Oxford
South Parks Road
OXFORD
OX1 3QY

 

Research Methodology

There is a wide variety of material within the Radcliffe Science Library on research methodologies suitable for dissertation or thesis preparation.

This includes material on the actual process of academic writing, citation principles, etc.

For a list of recent material in this area please visit http://www.refworks.com/refshare2?site=040601159502400000/RWWEB108195221/046821298647815000

Cover Art
The Complete Guide to Referencing and Avoiding Plagiarism - Colin Neville
Call Number: RSL Level 2 LB2369 NEV 2010
ISBN: 0335241034
Publication Date: 2010-02-01

Google Analytics - Bodleian Libraries use Google Analytics cookies on this web site. Google Analytics anonymously tracks individual visitor behaviour on this web site so that we can see how LibGuides is being used. We only use this information for monitoring and improving our websites and content for the benefit of our users (you).

You can opt out of Google Analytics cookies completely (from all websites) by visiting https://tools.google.com/dlpage/gaoptout

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip