Skip to main content

French Language and Literature journal articles: Home

This guide aims to show different methods for searching for journal articles for French studies including cross-searching and to show which journals relevant to French studies are available online at Oxford.

Other useful resources

Databases with citation search

For an example of a 'citation search' go to the 'Find e-journal citation search' tab (next tab).  Note: This is not citation searching (ie searching by using the bibliographical references of articles) which will be covered under Arts and Humanities citation index.

Searching for journal articles

  This guide (best viewed in Mozilla Firefox) aims to show different methods for searching for journal articles for French studies.  If you already have the bibliographical details for a journal article from a reading-list or a bibliography then Find e-journal is the best place to start and the best search to do would be a citation search.

  The guide aims to give an example of a citation search as well as different kinds of cross-search on SOLO, on OxLIP+ and on the Worldcat databases.

  The guide will also cover individual databases that are good sources for articles for French studies such as MLA, FRANCIS, International Medieval Bibliography and also the ZETOC database which provides tables of contents for many relevant journals. 

We will also look at the Arts and Humanities Citation Index  (for standard and citation searching)and Google Scholar (as a supplementary resource). 

The guide offers an annotated list of online journals relevant to French studies (French studies journals at Oxford (listing) as well as a listing of print-only journals.

At the end we will use the searching techniques covered to compile a bibliography about French journals.

Databases with cross-searching

Subject Guide