EFL training and workshops
This page is constantly updated throughout the academic year, please keep checking back to see what other courses we have on offer.
Most of our training takes place in the EFL IT Training Room. See the Main Library floorplan for details of how to access this room.
Other relevant training programmes
To view the full programme of WISER and other workshops see: WISER AND OTHER WORKSHOPS
WISER Humanities
These practical workshops are designed to help you find your way around the key resources offered by the Library Services. The workshops are free and will usually take place each lunchtime on Fridays, 12.30-1.30 at OUCS. Book online via the OUCS Course website. Please cancel your place if you cannot attend.
If you would like further information or advice as to which session would be most useful for you, please email usered@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
WISER timetable for this term
Subscribe by RSS
Making the most of the Bodleian
All sessions are general ones, providing a practical introduction to the Bodleian within the context of the Bodleian Libraries, with hands-on guidance in the use of the OLIS catalogue, the automated stack request system, and the electronic resources accessed through OxLIP+. Undergraduates and visiting students do not need to attend these sessions, as their timetabled library inductions (even if not held at the Bodleian) will cover the same skills and knowledge.
Making the most of the Bodleian timetable
For undergraduates taking FHS Paper 1
Trinity 2012
OED Q.E.D.: Using online resources for FHS Paper 1
**Additional introductory session**
Week 1: Tuesday, 10.00-11.00, EFL IT Training Room
An introductory session on using electronic resources in support of your Paper 1 work, to assist you with:
• Useful online resources for Paper 1, such as text analysis software, corpora, OED;
• Using full-text electronic resources:
- to find original texts,
- as concordances.
There will be follow-up sessions this term to go into greater detail on selected resources – details below.
To book a place on this introductory session, please email: rachael.scott@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
OED...OIC! : Further online resources for FHS Paper 1
Week 2: Tuesday, 10.00 – 11.00, EFL IT Training Room
Week 2: Friday, 10.00 – 11.00, EFL IT Training Room
Week 3: Wednesday, 11.00 – 12.00, **Bodleian Law Library Freshfields Room**
A follow-on session from OED Q.E.D. which will cover in greater depth the electronic resources you need for your FHS Paper 1 work.
If you have particular resources you would like us to cover, let us know in your sign-up email.
Requests so far include:
• Text analysis software – how to choose it and how to use it;
• Corpora – ways of searching the British National Corpus (and beyond);
• Advanced database searching (e.g. OED; MLA Bibliography; Past Masters).
To book a place on ONE of these sessions, please e-mail: sonya.adams@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
For undergraduates taking FHS Papers 7 & 8
Trinity 2012
Researching your extended essay
Week 5: Thursday, 11.00 – 12.00, EFL IT Training Room
Week 6: Tuesday, 11.00 – 12.00, EFL IT Training Room
This interactive session will explore the resources available to you over the summer so that you can begin researching your extended essays before the start of Michaelmas Term. The session will cover:
• Remote access to electronic resources from outside the Oxford network;
• Developing a search strategy;
• Advanced searching on SOLO;
• Accessing electronic journals & full text databases (e.g. LION);
• Researching topics using resources such as the MLA Bibliography.
If you would like to come to ONE of these sessions, please email: sonya.adams@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
For Postgraduates: WISER Sources for Medievalists
Trinity 2012
WISER: Sources for Medievalists
Week 8: Monday, 11 June, 09.30 - 11.45
General overview to a range of e-resources relevant for British & Western European medieval studies: bibliographical databases, biographical/reference tools, web portals & collections of online primary source materials of Anglo-Saxon sources, Greek/Latin texts, chronicles, charters & literary works.
Presenters: Charlotte Goodall, Isabel Holowaty, Susan Usher, Hilla Wait
WISER (or Workshops in Information Skills and Electronic Resources) is a programme of classes designed to help you to make effective use of electronic and other library resources in your research and learning.
Although, the workshops are free, booking is essential. To book please follow the "book now" link shown above or visit the the OUCS courses website. If you do not have a University card but would like to attend a course please contact User Education.

Loading...
