Skip to main content

Education: research guide: Data & Statistics

Education and childcare - general

EdStats: Education & Literacy

UNESCOData from the UNESCO Institute for Statistics (UIS) contains a large number of education indicators for more than 200 countries.

Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC)

A database that provides access to statistics, data, proceedings and other resources on education ranging from pre-school years to the adult level. This is mainly drawn from Resources in Education (RIE) and Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE). The database is updated monthly.

OECD Data: Education

OECD DataEducation attainment  ♦  Education resources  ♦  International student assessment (PISA)  ♦  Youth and the labour market
Most of these surveys are made available through the UK Data Service but further analysis and commentary is provided by the OECD iLibrary with direct links to an education database, data from the teaching and learning international survey (TALIS) and the programme for international student assessment (PISA).

UNICEF Data: Monitoring the Situation of Children and Women

UNICEF maintains a series of global databases for tracking the situation of children and women globally. The databases include statistically sound and nationally representative data from household surveys and other sources. They are updated annually through a process that draws on a wealth of data maintained by UNICEF’s network of 140 country offices.
Statistics by TOPIC + COUNTRY  ♦  Multiple Indicator Cluster Surveys (MICS)
A collection of development indicators, compiled from officially-recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates. Data comprises over 800 indicators covering more than 150 economies and includes education and related issues.

Education and childcare - UK

Official statistics: Department for Education

Higher Education Statistics Agency

HESAPublishes data on all aspects of the UK higher education sector including:

ONSONS Education and childcare statistics

Early years childcare, school & college education, higher education & adult learning, including qualifications, personnel, and safety & well-being.

Longitudinal Study of Young People in England

One of the main information sources for the formation and appraisal of policies relating to young people.