Skip to main content

Early modern history (British & W European c. 1500-c. 1800): Finding secondary literature

Suggested subject searches:

Reformation - Great Britain

France - History - 17th century - Sources

Germany - Social conditions - 18th century

Industries - England - 18th century

Enlightenment -- Italy -- History

Search for British & Irish history

Search for church history

Search Google Books

Getting started - finding books

Library catalogues are a key finding tool to find books on a particular topic or by a particular author. Most catalogues will allow you to search by author, title or subject keywords.

Key bibliographical aids:

Bibliography of British and Irish History: a comprehensive guide to historical writing about the history of Britain, Ireland, and relations with the empire and Commonwealth from 55BC to the present. The database indexes books, articles in journals, and articles in books published since 1901. It consolidates a number of existing bibliographies together with some additional material. Published guides to these sources are included, as are modern editions of primary material & a selection of printed primary material published up to 1900.

Historical Abstracts: one of the most important bibliographical databases for the history of the world from 1450 to the present. Since 1954 it indexes journal articles, dissertations, book reviews (selectively) and essays from over 2,000 sources.

More on this    

Looking for guidance on finding journal articles and dissertations?

Key library catalogues

Search WorldCat

Search for an item in libraries near you:
WorldCat.org >>