Skip to main content

Early modern history (British & W European c. 1500-c. 1800): Reference

Top Resource

Newly bookmarked websites

Loading

General reference

The history of the University of Oxford. 8 vols. (Oxford, 1984-) [find in SOLO]

A history of the University of Cambridge. 4 vols. (Cambridge, 1988-2004) [find in SOLO]

Dictionaries

Lexikon des Mittelalters. 10 vols. 1977-1999. An important encyclopedia for medieval studies. It deals with all branches of medieval studies and covers the period from 300 to 1500 AD for the whole of Europe and parts of the Middle East and North Africa. Contains 36,700 signed articles by 3,000 authors. [available on online via Brepolis Medieval Encyclopedias & SpColl RR R. 5.489f]

International Encyclopedia for the Middle Ages. An entirely new supplement to the Lexikon des Mittelalters, covering 300-1500 CE, and all of Europe, North Africa, and the Middle East.

Europe Sacra. The most comprehensive tool for Church prelates in the Middle Ages

Dictionary of the Middle Ages. 13 vols. (Scribner, 1982-89). [UCam S.Hist.REF.X.30.1]

A dictionary of medieval terms and phrases. (Woodbridge: D.S. Brewer, 2004). [Weston R.Ref.206]

Dictionary of Old English. Conceived by Angus Cameron, its founding editor, as an historical dictionary in the tradition established by Sir James Murray for the Oxford English Dictionary. The Dictionary of Old English is based on records written in English between 600 and 1150 A.D. [BOD Microfiches 451]

Middle English dictionary. The Middle English Compendium has been designed to offer easy access to and interconnectivity between three major Middle English electronic resources: an electronic version of the Middle English Dictionary, a HyperBibliography of Middle English prose and verse, based on the MED bibliographies, and an associated network of electronic resources, including a large collection of Middle English texts. [URR A.8.121]

Anglo-Norman Dictionary.(MHRA, 1992) [SpColl RR R.Ref. 3 + 3a]

A Latin dictionary / rev., enl. and in great part rewritten by Charlton T. Lewis and Charles Short. (Oxford, 1969) [many copies, incl. LRR C.Dict.4]

Revised medieval Latin word-list from British and Irish sources / prepared by R. E. Latham. Var. eds. [Check SOLO]

Dictionary of medieval Latin from British sources / prepared by R.E. Latham. In progress. (Oxford, 1975-). [LRR T.Dict.24 + SpColl RR R.Ref. 62]

Grasse, Johann Georg Theodor, Orbis Latinus: Lexikon lateinischer geographischer Namen des Mittelalters und der Neuzeit. 3 vols (Braunschweig, 1972) [LRR B2.1505 + SpColl RR R.Ref. 201]

Dictionnaire de l'ancienne langue française et de tous ses dialectes du IXe au XVe siècle / composé ... par Frédéric Godefroy. 10 vols. (1881-1902)
[Weston R.Ref. 5; URR K.10.58 condensed version]