Skip to main content

Early modern history (British & W European c. 1500-c. 1800): Italian sources

Ritratto di Niccolo Machiavelli -  Federico Zeri Foundation - from Europeana

Ritratto di Niccolò Machiavelli -  Federico Zeri Foundation

from Europeana

Newly bookmarked websites

Loading

Italian sources

Early European Books 2 and 3              

EEB provides scholars with new ways of accessing and exploring the printed record of early modern Europe, drawing together a diverse array of printed sources from the fifteenth, sixteenth, and seventeenth centuries. All works printed in Europe before 1701, regardless of language, fall within the scope of the project, together with all pre-1701 works in European languages printed further afield. Early European Books builds upon and complements Early English Books Online (EEBO) and is largely concerned with non-Anglophone materials.

Collection 2 contains early printed volumes from the Biblioteca Nazionale di Firence (National Central Library of Florence). The selection of works focuses on four collections of particular historic and bibliographic importance within the library's holdings from this period:

The Nencini Aldine Collection. More than 1,000 editions printed by the Aldine Press, founded by Aldo Manuzio the Elder (also known as Aldus Manutius) in Venice in 1495, and continued by his wife, son and grandson until the 1590s. The Aldine Press was one of the most historically significant institutions in the early history of printed books, with numerous innovations including the first use of italic type and the adoption of the smaller, more portable, octavo paper size.

Marginalia. A collection of more than 80 sixteenth- and seventeenth-century volumes which have been identified for the importance of the postillati, or marginal annotations. Researchers will be able to read marginal notes written by Galileo Galilei (1564-1642) on his own personal copies of works by Euclid, Petrarch, Ariosto, Tasso and Horace.

Documenti per servire alla storia di Sicilia. [Check SOLO]. Catalogued separately. Includes e.g. Maria Luisa Gangemi: Il tabulario del monastero San Benedetto di Catania (1299-1633). (Palermo: Società siciliana per la storia patria, 1999)

Venice: a documentary history, 1450-1630 / edited by David Chambers and Brian Pullan, with Jennifer Fletcher. (Toronto, University of Toronto Press, 2001).

Storia di Venezia: Portal for history of Venice, covering 15th to 19th centuries. Amongst others, content gives access to critical literature.

Florentine Renaissance Resources: Online Tratte of Office Holders 1282-1532: This site gives access to a database (c. 165,000 records) with information about office holders of the Florentine Republic during its 250-year history.

Fonti documentarie - Lombardia Beni Culturali: A portal of sources for Lomard history and culture. Includes collections of resources such as : Diplomatic code of medieval Lombardy (8-12C) The memory of the Sforza (15th C) Witchcraft in the county of Bormio (15-18C) Historical legislation of Lombard (18-19C) Bibliogreaphy of business periodicals in Lombard (1815-1914)

Fondazione Einaudi: collezioni digitalizzate: Thanks to a contribution from Piedmont Regional Council, some of the most important economic works, both Italian and foreign translated into Italian, published from 1600 to 1830 and owned by the Library, together with 198 titles of works, articles and letters of Luigi Einaudi have been digitalized.

Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana (BAV) - Manoscritti digitalizzati: The website of the digitised archives held by the Vatican Library, Rome. Ultimately, more than 40 million pages of Vatican records will be preserved in digital format, including 80,000 historic manuscripts and 8,900 rare "incunabula", early form books published prior to 1501.

Machiavelli

Opere di Niccolò Machiavelli / Machiavelli, Niccolò, 1469-1527. 11 vols. Milano : G. Salerno, 1968-1982

v. 1. Il principe. Discorsi sopra la prima deca di Tito Liovio -- v. 2. L'arte della guerra. Scritti minori -- v. 3. La vita di Castruccio Castracani. Istorie fiorentine -- v. 4. Teatro e scritti letterari -- v. 5. Epistolario -- v. 6-8. Legazioni e commissarie. 3 v. -- v. 9. Lettere di cancelleria -- v. 10. Bibliografia -- v. 11. Appendice. Indice