Skip to main content

Early modern history (British & W European c. 1500-c. 1800): Dissertations

Finding Oxford history theses in SOLO

Search
"Faculty of Modern History" thesis
or "Faculty of History" thesis

Getting started

Oxford theses: Use SOLO first to find most Oxford theses. All non-science D.Phils, all non-science masters theses from 1994, all Law theses, all postgraduate science theses from 1995, and all science D.Phils from 1988, and many individual theses outside these categories, are catalogued on SOLO. > More on this

British & Irish theses: Use ProQuest Dissertations & Theses UK and Ireland: a comprehensive listing of theses with abstracts accepted for higher degrees by universities in Great Britain and Ireland since 1716.

Thesis Completed & In Progress (Institute of Historical Research): The  Institute  of  Historical Research  (London)  publishes  lists  of  history  theses completed  since  1995  and  in progress.  Note  that  the  IHR  has  only  included  theses  that  students  or  their  representatives  have  given  us
express permission to include. This means that some theses listed in previous years are no longer listed.

US theses: Use Dissertations & Theses and Dissertations & Thesis: The Humanities and Spocial Sciences Collection (full-text). More than 2.3million entries, the database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities in North America and from around the globe. The database includes bibliographic citations for materials ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester. Citations for dissertations published from 1980 forward also include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Citations for master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts.
Coverage: 1861 - Current

How do I find the full-text?

Try