Skip to main content

Early modern history (British & W European c. 1500-c. 1800): Journal articles

Search Oxford Libraries Online

Search for British & Irish history

Search for church history

Why use bibliographical databases

Generally speaking, journal articles are not catalogued in library catalogues.

If you know the journal article details,

search by Journal Title in SOLO Oxford Collections tab.

or

search by journal article and author in SOLO Articles and More tab.

If you don't know the journal article details, use bibliographic databases to find them.

You can find printed bibliographies in a library catalogue by doing a subject search, such as Reformation - Bibliography.

Key bibliographical databases

Bibliographical databases usually have to be accessed via SOLO or OxLIP+. Oxford users should use their SSO (?) login for remote access.

Why bother? Bibliographies specialise in finding articles which have been published in history or history-related journals. Important: Note that these databases tell you what has been published but not what exists in Oxford.

How to you find the full-text? use the button to locate the full-text (print or electronic).

National historical bibliographies

Austria

Österreichische Historische Bibliographie (ÖHB), 1945-.

France
Répertoire bibliographique de l'histoire de France. 1920-31. [URR K.7.228]
Bibliographie annuelle de l'histoire de France. 1953-. [URR K.7.236]

Germany

Jahresberichte der Geschichtswissenschaft, 1880-1916
Jahresberichte der deutschen Geschichte, 1918-1924

Jahresberichte für deutsche Geschichte. (Leipzig, 1927-).
1974-2015 available online

Historische Bibliographie. 1987-.
1990- available online.

Italy
Bibliografia Storica Nazionale. 1939-99. [URR K.7.480]
2000- available online.

Netherlands
De Digitale Bibliografie Nederlandse Geschiedenis.

Spain
Indice histórico español. 1953-. [URR K.7.578]

Switzerland
Bibliographie der Schweizergeschichte. (Bern, 1913-). [BOD Offsite. Search SOLO]
1999- available online through Biblio.