This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Development Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Development Studies  

Last Updated: Mar 7, 2012 URL: http://ox.libguides.com/development Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Collections for Development Studies

The Bodleian Social Science Library houses research and teaching collections in support of the Department of International Development and contains the former Queen Elizabeth House Library and the Refugee Studies Centre Library. Teaching collections consist of reading list items from courses taught by the Department.

Research collections are predominantly in English (with some French and German) and broadly focused on the research interests of the Department, including international development issues and development in Africa, Asia and to some extent Latin America.

The Social Science Library maintains a collection of working papers in the subject area of International Development. These are kept in the Discussion and Working Papers section.

Other relevant collections include Rhodes House Library (materials and documents on Sub-Saharan Africa), the Latin American Centre Library and Bodleian Library for Latin American development, and the Indian Institute for materials on India and surrounding countries.

If you wish to ask a question or seek more help then please contact the Bodleian Social Science Library, or for subject enquiries the Subject Consultant.

 

New Books

Cover Art
Population ageing and international development : from generalisation to evidence - Peter Lloyd-Sherlock (Policy, 2010)
Call Number: SSL Main Lib. HQ1064.D44.LLO 2010
ISBN: 9781847421937
Over the next 40 years the number of people aged 60 and over in the world is set to grow by one and a quarter billion. More than 80 per cent of these people will be living in developing regions, such as Asia, Africa and Latin America. What are the implications of this for the world and what will old age be like for these people? This book provides analysis of links between development, population ageing and the experiences of older people. Drawing on a broad array of evidence, it challenges a number of widely held misconceptions and generalisations. The book highlights the diversity and complexity of international experiences and argues that the effects of population ageing on development are strongly influenced by policy choices. It argues that pension programmes in developing countries often promote inequality and clientelism, that health policies over-look basic provision and lifelong promotion, and that care needs continue to be neglected. It includes country case study chapters which analyse the experiences of India, South Africa and Argentina.

 
 

Guide: Remote Access

There are three methods of accessing subscription resources off campus:

  1. Single Sign On. Sign on to SOLOOxLIP+ or your University email and your browser retains the sign on. This allows you to access most e-resources as if you were on campus. 
  2. VPN (Virtual Private Network). Register with OUCS to log on to the network via VPN. Once logged on you can access all e-resources as if you were on campus.
  3. Departmental Server. Members of the Economics Department can use all e-resources via the terminal server.
For further information see the Bodleian Libraries remote access guide.

Subject Consultant

Profile Image
Mark Janes
Logo - Twitter
Contact Info
Bodleian Social Science Library
Manor Road, Oxford, OX1 3UQ
Telephone: +44 (0)1865 2-85936
Send Email
 

Department

QEH

Queen Elizabeth House
3 Mansfield Road
Oxford, OX1 3TB
Tel: +44 (1865) 281800
Fax: +44 (1865) 281801
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip