The Bodleian Law Library's collection of printed materials on Indian law (legislation, cases, journals and texts) is mainly shelved in Cw India on the Floor 1, with some texts on Hindu and Muslim law in the Hindu and Islamic sections, also found on the lower floor. Shelfmarks start at Cw India 10.
Most of the materials we have are in English, but there may be some in other languages such as Hindi. For help with legal terms, please refer to the Dictionaries section.
You may also find useful materials in other Oxford libraries like the Main Bodleian or Indian Institute libraries. Both are open to holders of valid OU cards.
- Lexis Library
OU Members only. Published by Lexis Nexis (formally Butterworths). Includes Supreme Court of India Cases, Combined (1999- ) & a good number of e-books.
To find out which Indian resources Lexis offers click the Sources tab on the home page - Change country to India & click on any/all hyperlinked letter(s) of the alphabet
- SCC Online (Supreme Court Cases)
OU members only.Database of case law from Indian Supreme Court and District High Courts, with Indian legislation, journals and ebooks. Some international materials as well. Requires IP registration with a 'ox.ac.uk' address. Please remember to log out when you have finished as this is a single-user license.
OU members only. NOTE Even when on the OU network requires special username and password - log in to Weblearn site via link below with your OSSO details to find out what they are. Don't forget to log out when finished - only 1 person can be logged in at a time.
- Singapore Legal Workbench
OU members only. Includes Indian Supreme Court Cases. NOTE Even when on the OU network requires special username and password - log in to Weblearn site via link below with your OSSO details to find out what they are. Don't forget to log out when finished - only 1 person can be logged in at a time.
- Passwords for OU subscription databases
OU members only. Some electronic resources require special passwords even when you are on the OU network. Use your Oxford Single Sign On username and password details for access - scroll down the alphabetical list till you find the database you need.
- Indian Constitution in English
Free resource. Download as pdf.
- India Code Official Pages
Free resource. Indian Government website for legislation
- Judgements Information System
Free resource. Judgements of the Supreme Court of India and other High Court judgements
- LII of India
Free access to databases of legislation, case law and some journal articles
- GOI web directory
Free resource. Government of India directory of web resources
- AdvocateKhoj Law Library
Free resource. A new communication platform designed for legal professionals in India. Their Law Library contains an exhaustive list of Acts and Rules passed by the Indian Parliament, full text of Supreme Court Judgments (1950 onwards), Legal Forms, Sample Agreements and Glossary.