How to use the Summary CatalogueThe Quarto Catalogues
General Finding AidsPolitics & Economics Finding AidsLiterature Finding AidsScience Finding Aids
This is the "Guide Contents" page of the "Finding Aids - Early Modern & Modern Manuscripts at the Bodleian Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Finding Aids - Early Modern & Modern Manuscripts at the Bodleian Library   Tags: archives, catalogues, finding aids, manuscripts, modern papers, oxford university, primary sources, printed ephemera, rare books, special collections, theses  

A guide to the finding aids available for early modern and modern manuscripts in the Bodleian Library.
Last Updated: May 29, 2013 URL: http://ox.libguides.com/modern-sc Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Guide Contents Print Page
  Search: 
 

Contact us

 

Introduction

The period 1500-2000 encompasses the department's major collections of 17th-century political papers and literary manuscripts; antiquarian and topographical manuscripts of the 17th to the 20th centuries; estate records, deeds and rolls from the medieval period onwards; private papers of individual politicians, diplomats, journalists, writers, scientists, scholars, churchmen and other public figures; and many miscellaneous collections of papers and single items.

Descriptions of 16th-18th century papers will be found in the newly digitized 'Quarto' series of catalogues, the Summary Catalogue (and its published continuation) and online; there are also published and unpublished calendars of some of the major collections of 16th to 18th-century manuscripts. Of the 'Quarto' catalogues, Ashmole, Rawlinson and Tanner contain descriptions of major 16th- to 17th-century collections; only Rawlinson contains significant 18th-century material (all before c. 1750). The 'Quarto' catalogues contain nothing post-1750. Catalogues of papers from the period will also be found in the unpublished continuation of the summary catalogues, which comprises descriptions of manuscripts acquired since 1975 (in a card index in Duke Humfrey's Library). There is also a series of separate catalogues of larger collections. This unpublished series is available in Duke Humfrey's Library and in the Special Collections Reading Room.

Special Collections Guides Editor

Profile Image
Special Collections
Contact Info
Bodleian Library, Broad Street, Oxford, OX1 3BG
Send Email
 
Google Analytics - Bodleian Libraries use Google Analytics cookies on this web site. Google Analytics anonymously tracks individual visitor behaviour on this web site so that we can see how LibGuides is being used. We only use this information for monitoring and improving our websites and content for the benefit of our users (you).

You can opt out of Google Analytics cookies completely (from all websites) by visiting https://tools.google.com/dlpage/gaoptout

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip