Journal articlesDissertations
Sources for EnglandSources for Scotland & IrelandSources for GermanySources for FranceSources for Italy & Spain
Biographical sources
This is the "Home" page of the "Early modern history (British & W European c. 1500-c. 1800)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Early modern history (British & W European c. 1500-c. 1800)   Tags: biography, england, europe, france, germany, great britain, history, ireland, italy, newspapers, portugal, scotland, spain, wales, western europe  

Last Updated: Jun 23, 2014 URL: http://ox.libguides.com/earlymodernhistory Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

17th Century science

Hooke's drawing of a flea

Robert Hooke's drawing of a flea, part of his Micrographia (1665).

 

Search Oxford Libraries Online

 

Tell us what you think

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


 

Getting started

Finding books and journals

Use SOLO to search for books and journals held in Oxford libraries (Bodleian, faculty libraries and college libraries).

Use author and/or title searches to find books. If you are looking for books on a topic, type in useful subject terms. E.g. Great Britain History Civil War. [more on subject searching]

Key journals (partially available online)

British journals

    Western European journals

    Period-specific journals

    Finding journal articles

    Don't search for journal articles in SOLO! If you know the journal it was published in, search by journal title. If you don't know where an article has been published in, the best way to locate journal articles by a particular author or on a particular subject, is to use a bibliographical database.

    1. Historical Abstracts (c. 1450-current; world history excl. North America)
    2. Bibliography of British & Irish History (Roman Britain to current; British, Irish and Commonwealth countries)
    3. Index Religiosus (church and religious history)

    More on this...

       

      Reviews

      Looking for reviews of book, articles, textbooks and digital resources? Reviews are

      • published in journals (e.g. Past & Present) or newspapers (e.g. Times Literary Supplement, New York Book Reviews, etc.)
      • indexed in a few databases such as Historical Abstracts;
      • published in H-Net;
      • Reviews in History publishes reviews and reappraisals of significant work in all fields of historical interest.  The ejournals includes over 1000 reviews to date and new reviews appear regularly. You can browse reviews by type of review (digital reviews, textbooks, articles, books, etc.) or by subject, period or country.
      • Choice Reviews Online (Oxford users only): publishes annually more than 7,000 concise reviews of academic titles, including books and electronic resources. The reviews are organized by discipline and also feature bibliographic essays and lists of significant forthcoming titles.You can browse or search through the issue, going back to 1988.
       

      Remote access

      Ways to access subscription resources off campus:

      1. Single Sign On. Sign on to SOLO, OxLIP+ or your University email and your browser retains the sign on. This allows you to access most e-resources as if you were on campus. 
      2. VPN (Virtual Private Network). Register with OUCS to log on to the network via VPN. Once logged on you can access all e-resources as if you were on campus.

      For further information see the Bodleian Libraries remote access guide.

      Google Analytics - Bodleian Libraries use Google Analytics cookies on this web site. Google Analytics anonymously tracks individual visitor behaviour on this web site so that we can see how LibGuides is being used. We only use this information for monitoring and improving our websites and content for the benefit of our users (you).

      You can opt out of Google Analytics cookies completely (from all websites) by visiting https://tools.google.com/dlpage/gaoptout

      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip