What this guide contains
To navigate this guide, please use either the blue tabs (above) or the links below
French law quick start
Printed resources
The LawBod's collection of printed materials on French law (legislation, cases, journals and texts) is shelved in the Gallery (upstairs from the Main Reading Room.)
Shelfmarks start France (followed by combination of numbers and letters) or KV11.
Law Library: Reserve Collection
When you search SOLO for texts you may find - especially if the text is recommended on an undergrad reading list - that the location is shown as "Law Library Reserve Collection." Armed with your University Card/Reader's Ticket and desk number, please ask for these books at the Reserve Collection desk in the Reading Room and they will be issued to you for use in the Library.
Electronic resources
Members of Oxford University can also use the first two electronic databases; the last one in the list is freely available online for anyone with internet access.
- Juris Classeur For OU members only. Searchable databases of legislation, case law (jurisprudence), journals, bibliographies, news and the full-text of Juris Classeur Encyclopédie.To connect to the main database choose "LexisNexis Juris Classeur" from the drop down menu (top right) and click on the arrow.
- Lextenso: la base du droit expert.OU members only. NOTE: Requires special password even when on OU network - see link below Access to French law journals in full-text and jurisprudence (case law) search tool. (Scroll down the Recherche avancée screen to find the search box Références de jurisprudence.)
Journals: Bulletins - Joly Bourse, Joly Entreprises en Difficulté, Joly Sociétés;
Cahiers de l'arbitrage; Cahiers sociaux du Barreau de Paris; Defrénois;
Gazette du Palais; L'ESSENTIEL : Droit bancaire, Droit de l'immobilier et urbanisme, Droit de la famille et des personnes, Droit de la propriété intellectuelle, Droit des assurances, Droit des contrats, Droit des entreprises en difficulté; Petites affiches; Revue des contrats;
Revue du droit public et de la science politique en France et à l'Étranger;
Revue française de finances publiques; Revue générale du droit des assurances. - Passwords for OU subscription databasesOU members only. Some electronic resources require special passwords even when you are on the OU network. Use your Oxford Single Sign On username and password details for access - scroll down the alphabetical list till you find the database you need.
- Revues en Droit OU members only. Archives de politique criminelle, Droit et société, Nouveaux Cahiers du Conseil constitutionnel, Plein droit, Pouvoirs, Rev. f. de droit constitutionnel, Rev. intern. de droit économique, Rev. intern. de droit pénal
- vlex global OU members only. Journal Officiel (1990- )& law codes. Please remember to log off when you have finished your session on vlex as our subscription limits the number of concurrent users.
- Légifrance: le service public de la diffusion du droit Free resource. Official French government law portal with databases of legislation, case law and treaty texts.Includes introduction to the French legal system in English, and translations of the major Codes (these are not necessarily of the Codes in their uptodate state - and even if they were, are not official). In left hand column click on Aide générale to find guides to using/searching the site.
Bodleian Law Library |
Contact Info Main Enquiries, Bodleian Law Library Telephone: +44 (0) 1865 271462 Fax: +44 (0) 1865 271475 Post: Bodleian Law Library, St. Cross Building, Manor Rd Oxford OX1 3UR Send Email |



Loading...
