Skip to main content

Sciences for Continuing Education: Geology

A guide to Library resources for the Sciences

Journals

The Rewley House Continuing Education Library does not subscribe to any printed journals in this subject. However, many electronic journals are available through PCs in the Library and in the Resource Room at Ewert House. Titles include:

Geological Magazine

Geology

Geology today

Journal of the Geological Society

Finding articles

Try the following bibliographic databases for a structured literature search:

GeoRef - key resource from the American Geological Institute. Available via OVID

Lyell Collection - One of the largest integrated collections of online Earth science literature available, from the Geological Society of London

Also try:

SCOPUS

Web of Science

Freely available articles

The following are open access sources:

Open Geology Journal, an open access, peer-reviewed title

E-Print Network - over 5.5 million e-prints in basic and applied sciences

Public Library resources

Reference material

Most public library authorities give members access to a range of online reference material. You can access much of this at home using your public library card.

Oxfordshire's Reference Online resources include:

  • Credo Reference
  • National Geographic Archive
  • Oxford Dictionary of National Biography (find out about Geologists)
  • Oxford Reference Online (a collection of OUP reference works)

Other public library services will provide similar resources. Find your local library service on the UK.Gov website https://www.gov.uk/local-library-services

Journal articles

Access to Research logoAccess to Research is an initiative which provides free access to academic e-journals in public libraries. Note that you cannot access them at home, only in libraries. You can find a full list of participating libraries as well as information about the journals included on the Access to Research website http://www.accesstoresearch.org.uk/

Continuing Education collections

Books for Geology are on the lower floor of the Library. Reference books such as dictionaries and encyclopedias can be found in the Jessup Reading Room. Key numbers are:

550 General earth science 551.5-551.6 Meteorology, weather and climate
551 General geology 551.69 Climate change
551.136 Plate tectonics 551.79 Quaternary studies
551.2 Earthquakes and volcanoes 552 Petrology
551.4 Geomorphology 551.41-551.42 British geology
551.48 Hydrology 560 Paleontology, fossils

 

The Library has a number of geological sheet maps, mainly of Oxfordshire, which are shelved at 554.257 in the Pamphlet section on the lower floor.

E-books

Many e-books purchased by Bodleian Libraries are available and can be found on SOLO. You can access the content of these on PCs in the Library or in the Resource room at Ewert House. For more information about e-books, see Finding books

Here is a selection of titles:

Free online resources

You can find many good quality, free resources on the internet. Here are a few suggestions to get you started: