Skip to main content

Sciences for Continuing Education: Getting started

A guide to Library resources for the Sciences

  How to find things

Search SOLO to find books, e-books and journal titles.

Use OxLIP+ to search bibliographic databases, online resources and individual e-journals.

You will find more information on searching for library resources in the Finding Resources area of the library website.

Can't find what you are looking for? Please library@conted.ox.ac.uk, for assistance.

Further information

For general library information for weekly class students, see the Guide for Weekly Class students

For general information about the Rewley House Continuing Education Library, see the Library website

For detailed information on finding journal articles, see the online guide Finding Journals

For subject guides written by Bodleian Libraries staff, see Oxford LibGuides (note: these guides will link to resources which you may only be able to use in the Library or the Resource Room at Ewert House if you are a weekly class student)

Purpose of this guide

This guide is intended for weekly class students studying courses in the Sciences at Oxford University Department for Continuing Education, although of course others may find it useful.

Use this guide to find out about the print collections for the Sciences in the Rewley House Continuing Education Library and also about electronic resources such as e-books, e-journals, bibliographic databases etc. You'll also find some tips on searching library resources effectively.

For information on Science resources in general see:

For specific subject information see:

Who can use which resources?

Weekly class students

Students enrolled on a Continuing Education weekly class which includes a written assignment can:

  • register to borrow books from the Continuing Education Library.
  • access electronic resources such as e-books, journal articles and databases from within the university network, for example in the Library or in the resources room at Ewert House. Weekly class students cannot access subscription resources from home, but there are many free online resources available.

Students on award-bearing courses

Students enrolled on an award-bearing Continuing Education course, such as undergraduate and postgraduate certificates and diplomas and Masters degrees, can:

  • register to borrow books from the Continuing Education Library.
  • become a member of other Oxford University libraries such as the Radcliffe Science Library and the Bodleian.
  • access electronic resources such as e-books, journal articles and databases from any internet connection using your Single Sign On.

Other members of the University

Staff and students of the University who are not members of the Continuing Education Department may use the Library for reference. Short loans may be made in exceptional circumstances: please ask at the Library desk.

For more information about joining the Library see the Library website.

Rewley House Continuing Education Library

Sue Pemberton's picture
Sue Pemberton
Contact:
Rewley House Continuing Education Library
Rewley House
1 Wellington Square
Oxford
OX1 2JA
+44 (0)1865 270454
Website / Blog Page

Library news

Loading