Skip to main content

Clinical Medicine: Journal Articles

Subjects: Medicine

Guide: OxLIP+

What other databases do we subscribe to?

Use OxLIP+ to browse or open Oxford's bibliographic databases and other online resources.

Click on the Subject tab and scroll down the list of categories to Medical Sciences.

View groupings for Bibliographic databases, Reference books, e-book collections, and websites in biomedicine.

Here's the full Guide to OxLIP+.

Retrieving full text

Find it @ Oxford

This clever pop-up shows which years we have access to and where we get them from. This is important as current issues and backfiles of the same journal often come from different suppliers.

Finding a specific journal article

If you already have the reference, try PubMed with Oxford links. PubMed comprises more than 20 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.

We have linked our e-journals to PubMed. This means that when you view an article on PubMed with Oxford links you will know instantly whether you can read it straight away without having to check on a different website.

Finding journal articles on a subject

Try PubMed with Oxford links or Scopus, another database of research in science and medicine. Scopus is a commercial service, and the Bodleian Libraries pay for our access. Like PubMed it searches bibliographic records and provides links to full text where available.

Guide: Cited Reference Searching

Cited reference searching (finding out what articles have cited an article after publication) can be done on Web of Science (Science Citation Index), or for articles published after 1996 on SCOPUS. Look for Times Cited or Citations.

Google Scholar also has 'Cited by' links.

Cairns Library

Find us: John Radcliffe Hospital

Contact us: 01865 221936 or

hcl-enquiries@bodleian.ox.ac.uk www.bodleian.ox.ac.uk/medicine

Knowledge Centre

Find us: Old Road Campus Research Building

Contact us: 01865 225815 or

hcl-enquiries@bodleian.ox.ac.uk www.bodleian.ox.ac.uk/medicine

Horton Library

Find us: Horton General Hospital

Contact us: 01295 229316

library@ouh.nhs.uk
www.ouhlibrary.com

Girdlestone Memorial (NOC) Library

Find us: Nuffield Orthopaedic Centre

Contact us: 01865 738147

hcl-enquiries@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
http://www.bodleian.ox.ac.uk/medicine

 

Radcliffe Science Library