(C) Trade in Prints and Scraps 8 (74)
We index the images too. We use: Library of Congress Thesaurus for Graphic Materials and Iconclass.
In The John Johnson Collection: an archive of printed ephemera (ProQuest) always use 'select from a list' to check that your search term is the best one.
To find out which sections of the John Johnson Collection have been catalogued and digitised, you should refer to the online table: Digitised sections of the Collection and our Introduction to Finding Images.
We currently have c. 100,000 records online, with 183,000 images.
All images are on our own website except: Ballads, the Toyota Project (transport, including a few images of carriages and coaches) and the ProQuest project: The John Johnson Collection: an archive of printed ephemera. This (our largest) project. contains 65,000 items, with over 170,000 images) It covers:
The ProQuest project, can be cross-searched with other collections through Connected Histories. You should use the ProQuest project either through the University network or use the new url which enables anyone in the UK to have access: http://johnjohnson.chadwyck.co.uk/geoLocSubscription.do
Political Cartoons and Trades and Professions Prints can be browsed and searched in the Visual Arts Data Service (VADS). To browse the images, click on Images next to the project title. VADS, in turn, can be cross-searched through Culture Grid.
18th century Entertainment, Board Games and Wriiting Blanks are online through Digital Bodleian.