Skip to main content

Printed images in Bodleian collections: Gough

A guide describing some of the notable collections of picture prints and illustrations in Bodleian Library collections, with information about catalogue resources.

About the Collection

The Gough collection contains drawings, prints and maps of England, collected together under each county, assembled by Richard Gough in pursuit of his research into English history and topography. 

Among his collections, Gough bequeathed to the Bodleian his topographical collections of maps, topographical prints, drawings, etc. arranged under the names of the counties of the British Isles (shelfmarks : Gough maps 1-260); 16 large folio volumes of coloured drawings of monuments in the Churches of France, (detached from a large collection of drawings of royal and other monuments and tombs made by Francis Roger de Gaignières); and 400 copper plates, used mainly for the publication of his Sepulchral monuments of Great Britain.

Books in the Gough collection (shelfmark: Gough) may also contain extra-illustrations.

Access Information

The Gough collection can be accessed in various ways:

  • the records for the Gough Collection in the Summary Catalogue of Bodleian Manuscripts can be found at numbers 17498-548 in vol. 4 of the catalogue
  • the maps can be found in the map catalogue or under the topographical card index in the Weston Library Rare Books and Manuscripts Reading Room
  • the rest of the collection is available under the card index (up to volume 30), or in the handwritten catalogue, arranged by volume and folio

 If you are in any doubt as to how to access the collection material, ask a member of the reading room staff who will be able to assist you further.

Gough Image

William Dugdale, Antiquities of Warwickshire, extra-illustration, a proof from a plate for Sepulchral Monuments of Great Britain. Gough Warw. 22.