Skip to main content

John Johnson Collection of Printed Ephemera for Art Historians: Using the Collection

How to maximise use of the John Johnson Collection to find information about artists and art

Using the Library

(C) John Johnson Collection: Booktrade London L

What you need to do

Researching in person

Step One: Do I need to come to the Library?

Please first ensure that the material you wish to see is not available online, either through:

If there are already surrogates, you will be asked to use these, at least in the first instance. Please email jjcoll@bodleian.ox.ac.uk if you are in doubt.

Step Two: Contact the Librarian

The Collection may be consulted by appointment only. If you have established that you need to consult original materials, please contact the Librarian of the John Johnson Collection to discuss what you want to see and to make an appointment.  All material is ordered through the Librarian. As it is currently stored off-site you must allow time for it to arrive in the Reading Room.

Step Three: Is your reader's card category 'A'?

If not, you will need a further recommendation from your tutor.  Please ask him/her to email jjcoll@bodleian.ox.ac.uk

Step Four: Booking a seat in the Reading Room

You should Book a seat in the Special Collections Reading Room at the Radcliffe Science Library.

 

Subject Guide

Julie Anne Lambert's picture
Julie Anne Lambert
Contact:
John Johnson Collection
Bodleian Libraries
Broad Street
Oxford
OX1 3BG
UK
+44 (0)1865 277047
Website / Blog Page