Skip to main content

John Johnson Collection of Printed Ephemera for Art Historians: Social history

How to maximise use of the John Johnson Collection to find information about artists and art

Images

A trip to Paris: John Bull, his wife and Napoleon

(C) John Johnson Collection: French Wars and Revolutions folder 6 (26)

Finding socio-historical context

Most of the John Johnson Collection is primary source material for social historians and the existing catalogues are rich hunting grounds. Try our online catalogue and the ProQuest project for subjects, names, places and keywords and to limit by date.

Many of the sections directly relevant to historians are grouped under the main theme: Political, Social, Religious and Economic History.  This page gives links to indexes for individual sections. Most are uncatalogued, except:

  • Crime, Murders and Executions material has been catalogued and digitised and is available through the Johnson online catalogue (without images) and the ProQuest site (with images and also mapping to other resources, through Mapping Crime).
  • Political Cartoons and Trades and Professions prints are catalogued and digitised. They are available through the Johnson online catalogue and through VADS, where they can be cross-searched with other collections.
  • The John Fraser Collection of Propaganda Postcards is a significant resource.  Postcards relating to the South African war have already been catalogued and postcards of the First World War are currently being catalogued.

     

Other relevant resources

 


 

Subject Guide

Julie Anne Lambert's picture
Julie Anne Lambert
Contact:
John Johnson Collection
Bodleian Libraries
Broad Street
Oxford
OX1 3BG
UK
+44 (0)1865 277047
Website / Blog Page