Skip to main content

The Queen's College Library : Finding resources

A guide to using the facilities and resources available in the Library of the Queen's College, Oxford.

SOLO

To find what resources are available in Queen's, you need to search the Oxford union catalogue, SOLO: Search Oxford Libraries online.

SOLO is a search and discovery tool for the vast collection of resources in Oxford Libraries.  A simple search box will bring back results from Oxford's catalogue of printed and electronic books and journals, as well as articles in the Oxford Research Archive (ORA).  You can also restrict your searches to items held in Queen's only.

Detailed help is available on the SOLO LibGuide, but Library staff are always happy to help if you need guidance with your searches.

Library Assistant

Library Assistant Logo

Are you an Oxford Fresher?

Library Assistant is our online guide to library services for new undergraduate students. It is adapted to work on smartphones and tablets so you can access it anywhere.  You can use Library Assistant to -

  • Find libraries around Oxford
  • Get help finding books on your reading lists
  • Get information about library WiFi, passwords and photocopying
  • ...and much more

Visit Library Assistant at -

www.bodleian.ox.ac.uk/assistant

Locating an item in Queen's

When you find a book on SOLO that you are interested in, click on the Find & Request link to see if it is located in Queen’s.  If a Queen's item is listed, click on the plus sign to expand the holdings and see how many copies we have and if they are available.  Make a note of the Call number (also sometimes called a shelfmark or classmark) as you will need this to find the book on the shelves.  Look out for books that are not in the main collectionThere are several common locations you will come across on SOLO:

  • Queen’s College Library (with no additional information) – refers to the ground floor on the same level as the Library entrance, also known as the Lower or Main Library.
  •  Reference – the section under the window sills on the East side of the Library
  •  Basement – the lower floor of the Library, down the stairs
  •  Law Library – the square room at the end of the Basement

During 2016-2017 some of these areas will be inaccessible for periods of time due to the building of the new library extension. Please look out for notices.

If you require a book in another location (e.g. Upper Library or Tunnel), please speak to a member of staff.

E-resources

SOLO lets you restrict your searches to electronic books only, or refine your search results to electronic resources afterwards.  

As well as online books and journals, a SOLO search will also return results from the Oxford Research Archive (ORA), a free online depository of articles written by Oxford academics.  Other collections will be searchable via SOLO as time goes on.

OxLIP+ is a portal to all the electronic resources subscribed to by the University.  Some resources are searchable directly through the OxLIP+ interface.  These can be identified by the magnifying-glass symbol next to their name.  You can even search several at once! OxLIP+ also allows you to search for resources by keyword.  Descriptions are searched as well as titles, so you should hopefully find it easy to find relevant databases / collections. 

OU e-journals is a portal to all the online journals subscribed to by the University, organised alphabetically by title and subject.  These are the same journal titles that you will find on SOLO all in one place.

If you need help on how to access or use online resources, please email library@queens.ox.ac.uk in the first instance, or come and see us at the enquiry desk. You might be also able to find the information you need on the OxLIP+ LibGuide.

However, if you think there is a technical problem with one of the Bodleian Libraries’ resources, or you want to make comments or suggestions on their subscriptions, please email eresources@bodleian.ox.ac.uk.

Finding books on the shelves

Books are ordered on the shelves in alphanumerical order by their shelfmark.  In the Lower Library and Law Library, all books are classified using the Library of Congress scheme.

If you need help finding a section, consult the maps below or ask a member of staff.

Naxos Music Library

As well as the electronic resources available to you via the Bodleian Libraries, Queen's also subscribes individually to the Naxos Music Library, where you can stream classical music with a choice of over one million tracks.


To access Naxos, visit https://naxos.queens.ox.ac.uk and log in with your usual single sign-on user name and password.

Book requests

If there is a book you need for your course that is not held in Queen's, you may request that it be purchased for the Library.

Book requests can either be made by filling in the yellow form (located at the enquiry desk and by the self-issue machine), or using the online form below.

All requests will be sent to your tutor for approval and once approved are usually ready for you very quickly, sometimes within 48 hours.