Skip to main content

e-resources for Women's Studies: eBooks

Introduction to eBooks

eBooks are an extremely valuable and often underused resource. Key reference works are available online and provide you with full search facilities so it is much easier and quicker to search for specific themes than it would be to search indexes in the print copy. There is also the obvious advantage of being able to use eBooks when libraries are closed and when the titles you require are out on loan and in heavy demand.

The eBook collections highlighted here are examples of Oxford's eBook holdings; all these eBook collections (and more) are also catalogued on SOLO and all eBook tiltes can also be accessed via SOLO - just search for the title you require and, if an electronic version is available, a link will be provided (you will need your Single Sign On if accessing remotely).

Oxford Reference Online

Oxford Reference Online brings together over 175 Quick Reference works published by Oxford University Press into a single cross-searchable resource. The English Dictionaries and Reference section includes regional English dictionaries (Australian, Canadian, New Zealand and American Englishes) and English grammar and usage guides.

You can conduct a quick, simple search from here:

Search Oxford Reference Online

EBL - the E-Book Library

The E Book Library (EBL) is a growing collection of ebooks from major academic publishers worldwide in humanities, science and medicine and social studies, including titles from Taylor and Francis, Oxford University Press, Cambridge University Press, deGruyter, Springer, World Scientific and others.

"Owned" books may be browsed online or downloaded and read off-line for 24 hours on laptops and mobile devices, including i- and android phones, iPads and some ereaders (not Kindles).

Blackwell Reference Online

Blackwell Reference Online provides full text access to key reference works. The texts are fully searchable and chapters can be read online in html format.

 

Cambridge Companions Online

Cambridge Companions Online provides fully searchable online editions of all the Cambridge Companions series in Literature, Classics, Philosophy, Religion and Culture. You can search by specific title and also by keyword within the text. Individual chapters can be viewed as pdf files, which replicate the print version of the book, or in html for onscreen viewing.

If you want to learn more about Cambridge Collections Online, look at the Introduction to Cambridge Companions Online, produced by Cambridge University Press

 Examples from the collection include:

edited by Susan Sellers
Cambridge, UK : Cambridge University Press, 2010
edited by Claudia Card
Cambridge, UK : Cambridge University Press, 2003
 
edited by Jerome Neu
Cambridge, UK : Cambridge University Press, 1991
edited by Ellen Rooney
Cambridge, UK : Cambridge University Press, 2006

(N.B. If you are not connected to the Oxford network you will need to login with your Oxford Single Sign On username and password to gain full access to the above online resources)

Oxford Scholarship Online

Oxford Scholarship Online contains a growing collection of humanities and social science ebooks published by Oxford University Press. Over 600 literature titles are available and the collection can be browsed by subject. Book chapters can be read online or downloaded as PDFs.

Examples from the collection include:

by Linda Alcoff
Oxford, UK ; New York, NY : Oxford University Press, 2006
ed. by I. M. Young
Oxford : Oxford University Press, 2005
 
Oxford : Oxford University Press, 2007
by Beth Palmer
Oxford : Oxford University Press, 2011

(N.B. If you are not connected to the Oxford network you will need to login with your Oxford Single Sign On username and password to gain full access to the above online resources)

Titles from other collections

Examples from other collections include:

by Anne McClintock
New York : Routledge, 1995
ed. by Ellen Lewin
Oxfor: Blackwell, 2006
 
Chicago : Chicago University Press, 1984
ed. by Sharlene Nagy Hesse-Biber & Patricia Lina Leavy
London: Sage Publications, 2007

(N.B. If you are not connected to the Oxford network you will need to login with your Oxford Single Sign On username and password to gain full access to the above online resources)