Skip to main content

History databases desiderata & trials: United States desiderata

Subjects: History - General

Search for subscribed eresources

Suggest other resources

If a database or ejournal is not yet on the History Desiderata, you can recommend an electronic resource.

How to evaluate a database

Is the content:

  • scholarly
  • authoritative & peer-reviewed
  • accurate
  • up-to-date
  • complete
  • supported by editorials, documentation, guides.

Is there good functionality for

  • ease of use
  • searching & browsing
  • viewing, zooming, resizing
  • saving, emailing, printing
  • alerts
  • clear display & navigation

Tips:

  • Read editorial, helpfiles and FAQs
  • Test the same search using different methods

Is it relevant for other disciplines?

United States History Desiderata

The wealth of digitised materials for United States history means that the current wishlist for US history eresources is very extensive and cannot be reproduced in full here. Please contact the US History Subject Librarian, Jane Rawson, if you wish to enquire about or suggest electronic resources for consideration.

Details of current and recent trials will be added to this page.

Please see the Guide to US History Sources for an overview of the eresources already available for US history.

Trial complete: Civil Rights in America [Readex]

Civil Rights in America: from Reconstruction to the Great Society is a fully searchable archive of congressional documents related to all aspects of civil rights in the United States, from segregation to women’s suffrage to discrimination of all kinds. The material in this collection includes publications and reports from the US Senate and House of Representatives, the executive branch, congressional committees, special investigations and non-governmental organizations. Please note, there is a significant overlap in content with our existing congressional resources such as the Serial Set.

Access was available from 24th March - 22nd April 2016. 

Trial complete: African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 [Readex]

African American Newspapers, series I & II, 1827-1998, provides online access to approximately 330 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection features papers from more than 35 states—including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles.

Trial access was available from 13 January - 19 February 2016. Please send comments and feedback to jane.rawson@bodleian.ox.ac.uk.

Please note, series I was previously trialled 4 July - 14 August 2013. 

Trial complete: Black Authors, 1556-1922 [Readex]

This collection offers more than 550 fully catalogued and searchable works by black authors from the Americas, Europe and Africa, expertly compiled by the curators of Afro-Americana Imprints collection, the largest existing collection of its kind. Found within are wide-ranging genres, including personal narratives, autobiographies, histories, expedition reports, military reports, novels, essays, poems and musical compositions.

Major subject areas addressed in Black Authors include Literature, Ethnic History, Colonialism, Gender Studies, Slavery, Diaspora Studies and related fields. As a whole, this collection reveals how the creative efforts of black authors evolved over three centuries. The earliest published works of authors of African descent are largely travel narratives and historical works treating the exploration of the African continent and the collision between European powers with the peoples of Africa.

Access was available 14th December 2015 to 5th February 2016. Please send comments or feedback to jane.rawson@bodleian.ox.ac.uk.

Trial complete: History Vault [ProQuest]

ProQuest History Vault provides access to a number of thematic collections of digitised primary sources covering a range of topics in American history. The majority of the collections focus on the 20th century but some cover earlier periods. The collections are particularly strong for African American history and military history.

Trial access was available 19th September - 31st October 2014. Please send feedback to jane.rawson@bodleian.ox.ac.uk

Trial complete: African American Periodicals, 1825-1995

African American Periodicals, 1825-1995, features more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans. Published in 26 states, the publications include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations bulletins, annual reports and other genres. 

Trial access was available from 4 July - 14 August 2013. Please send comments and feedback to jane.rawson@bodleian.ox.ac.uk.

Subject Librarian

Jane Rawson's picture
Jane Rawson
Contact:
Vere Harmsworth Library,
Rothermere American Institute,
1a South Parks Road,
Oxford, OX1 3UB
01865 282701