Skip to main content

History databases desiderata & trials: eJournals & newspapers

Subjects: History - General

Search for subscribed eresources

eJournal news

Loading

Suggest other resources

If a database or ejournal is not yet on the History Desiderata, you can recommend an electronic resource.

How to evaluate a journal

Is the content:

  • scholarly
  • authoritative & peer-reviewed
  • accurate
  • up-to-date
  • complete
  • supported by editorials, documentation, guides.

Is there good functionality for

  • ease of use
  • searching & browsing
  • viewing, zooming, resizing
  • saving, emailing, printing
  • alerts
  • clear display & navigation

Tips:

  • Read editorial, helpfiles and FAQs
  • Test the same search using different methods

Is it relevant for other disciplines?

19th Century British Newspapers: Part III & IV (part of British Newspapers 1600-1950)

Trial ended 14 May 2015.

Following on from the existing subscription to 19th Century British Newspapers, Parts III & IV provide access to new content which private subscribers to the British Newspaper Archive can already access.

Parts III and IV, covering 1750-1950, further extends the range of English regional newspapers and expands the views represented in the series. Examples of new additions cover all areas of Britain and include, for instance, The Cornishman 1878-1950, Norfolk Chronicle, 1776-1867, Bath Chronicle and Weekly Gazette 1749-1950, Sheffield Daily Telegraph 1855-1904, etc.

Word Newspaper Archive: Latin Newspapers, Series II, 1822-1922

Trial ended 9 February.

This second series of digitized Latin American Newspapers dramatically expands the number of searchable titles available from this region. Providing issues from more than 250 additional titles, this online series includes newspapers published in English, Spanish and Portuguese from 20 countries, including some countries and cities not represented in the inaugural collection of Latin American Newspapers. Together, both series of Latin American Newspapers offer unprecedented coverage of the people, issues and events that shaped this vital area during the 19th and early 20th centuries.

Oxford users already have access to the first series.

This collection is available for trial until February 9, 2013.  Please note that access is from within the University network only.

Please send feedback on this resource to joanne.edwards@bodleian.ox.ac.uk.

Sunday Times Digital Archive 1822-2006

Key newspaper title to complement The Times Digital Archive 1785-1985.

Telegraph Historical Archive, 1855-2000

This resource is a fully searchable digital archive of what was once the world’s largest selling newspaper. Researchers and students can full text search across 1 million pages of the newspaper’s backfile from its first issue to the end of 2000, including issues of the Sunday Telegraph from 1961.

The newspaper was directed at a wealthy, educated readership and is commonly associated with traditional Toryism, despite its more 'liberal' beginnings especially in regard to foreign policy. Under the editorship of poet and Orientalist Edwin Arnold (from 1873 to 1899), the paper published widely on foreign affairs and foreign cultures. This led to The Telegraph's coverage of Henry Morton Stanley's expedition to Africa in search of David Livingstone, which it co-sponsored with the New York Herald.

Trialled 3 - 31 May 2016.

Daily Mail Historical Archive, 1896-2004

The Daily Mail is a well-known British daily tabloid  which was first published on 4 May 1896 by Alfred Charles William Harmsworth, later Lord Northcliffe, and his brother Harold, later Lord Rothermere.  This resource provides access to more than 100 years of this publication, which boasts a circulation now of over 2 million. It can be viewed in full digital facsimile form, with copious advertisements, news stories and images that capture 20th century culture and society.

High on the modern history desiderata but not currently affordable. The British Library provides access to registered readers. More on this.

Daily Express Archive 1900-

An important 20th century tabloid newspaper.

Trailed in July 2012.

Vossische Zeitung Online [de Gruyter]

An important German newspaper, of a liberal stance, which was published in Berlin 1721-1934 and by considered a national newspaper.