Skip to main content

History databases desiderata & trials: Modern history desiderata

Subjects: History - General

Search for subscribed eresources

Suggest other resources

If a database or ejournal is not yet on the History Desiderata, you can recommend an electronic resource.

How to evaluate a database

Is the content:

  • scholarly
  • authoritative & peer-reviewed
  • accurate
  • up-to-date
  • complete
  • supported by editorials, documentation, guides.

Is there good functionality for

  • ease of use
  • searching & browsing
  • viewing, zooming, resizing
  • saving, emailing, printing
  • alerts
  • clear display & navigation

Tips:

  • Read editorial, helpfiles and FAQs
  • Test the same search using different methods

Is it relevant for other disciplines?

Making of the Modern World; Part 2, 1851-1900 [Cengage]

Following on from The Making of the Modern World, this takes the series to the end of the 19th century with approx. 5,000 additional titles. Comprising mainly monographs, reports, correspondence, speeches and surveys, MOMW Part II: 1851-1914 is available as a stand-alone collection or can be cross-searched with the original MOMW through an enhanced user interface. It allows historians to explore a range of material including, but not limited to, local reports, broad overviews, abstract analyses, reports on the financing of railways, economic textbooks, social polemics and political speeches on subjects ranging from 19th century banking history and economic systems to social reform, debates over currency format, the increased interest in theories of valuation and the emerging issue of foreign exchange rates. Of interest to Modern Historians and researchers in Economic History.

Trialled in July 2012.

British Online Archives: British Records on the Atlantic World, 1700-1900

Microform Academic Publishers offers scholars and academics access to a range of primary sources relevant for modern history. The many collections include some relevant to Anglo-American history, 20th century political history and history of science and medicine from the 18th to the 20th century.

British Records on the Atlantic World, 1700-1900: This series brings together a wealth of collections spanning two centuries of Britain's colonisation, commercial, missionary and even literary relations with Africa and the Americas. Alongside the records of Liverpool merchants involved in the infamous Triangular Trade, there are those of slave plantation owners, of early Anglican missionaries, of naval and customs officials, and of a group of socialists from Lancashire, who maintained a lengthy correspondence over many years with the father of American poetry.

  • Records relating to the slave trade at the Liverpool Record Office
  • The papers of William Davenport & Co., 1745-1797 - Now available to Oxford users via SOLO or OxLIP+.
  • Jamaican material in the Slebech papers
  • Papers relating to the Jamaican estates of the Goulburn family of Betchworth House
  • Papers of the Company of Scotland Trading to Africa and the Indies, 1694-1709
  • Early colonial and missionary records from West Africa
  • The Canadian papers of the 4th Earl of Minto - Now available to Oxford users via SOLO or OxLIP+.

These can be selectively purchased.

Trialled in July 2012.

Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration and Cultural Exchange

Trial ended.

Includes wide-ranging sources:

  • Records of individual traders, showing patterns of consumption for a range of commodities over time.
  • Business Accounts and Records of both small and large companies from an early fur trapper to a major chocolate manufacturer.
  • Dock Accounts describing the development of a major port from 1755 to 1960.
  • Bills of Entry for major ports which show changing patterns of trade between 1820 and 1939.
  • 17th and 18th century Trade Returns and Prices Current for key markets.
  • Material on the discovery and exploitation of commodities in Asia, Africa and the Americas from 1492 to 2000.
  • Government records concerning taxation, economic development and colonial business schemes.
  • Exhibition Catalogues.
  • Statistical sources documenting world trade; and a vast range of visual material including advertising and packaging, photographs, paintings and prints.

For each commodity there is a vast array of historical material documenting their origins, transportation, consumption and impact on society. Also, each commodity is documented through a wide range of manuscript materials, maps, posters, paintings, photographs, ephemera, objects and rare books so that the student can explore the origins of the commodity, their first uses, the trade that developed and the ways in which these items were marketed.

Relevant for world history, economic and trade history, social history, discovery and exploration, history of consumption and life style, etc.

Covers early modern to 20th century.

Available in the British Library.

Journaux de la Révolution de 1848 (Archives Unbound) [Cengage]

This database concerns texts relating to the 1848 Revolution in France. The revolution toppled the July Monarchy of Louis Philippe, briefly reinstated the republic, and, ultimately, led to the restoration of the Second Empire under Louis-Napoléon Bonaparte. This resource includes newspapers and other periodicals which record these political and social upheavals from 1848 to 1852.

These sources originated in the British Library in London. They include daily and weekly periodicals which offer extensive coverage of the revolution by experienced journalists. Others periodicals are partisan views of the events, including those of George Sand. The collection includes women's magazines, literary criticism, medical and business titles, regional newspapers, newsletters, pamphlets, and satirical works. These sources may be of interest to scholars and students of French social and political history during the nineteenth century.

Trialled in July 2012.

Available in the British Library.

L’Affaire Dreyfus et la Création de la France modern (Archives Unbound) [Cengage]

These documents relate to the Dreyfus Affair of 1894. Alfred Dreyfus, a Jewish officer, was accused of treason and condemned for life despite overwhelming evidence of his innocence. The Dreyfus Affair became the most prominent political scandal of the time, dividing France and revealing virulent anti-Semitism in Europe.

These documents include 83,820 digital images from the Houghton Library, Harvard. It also includes archival material relating to Emile Zola, who defended Dreyfus in his famous 1898 article, ‘J’accuse’. Written records include French, English, German, Italian, Spanish, Dutch and Swedish sources including newspaper accounts, court transcripts, case studies, pamphlets, clippings, and drawings.

Trialled in July 2012.

The Dublin Castle Records 1798-1926 (Archives Unbound) [Cengage]

Dublin Castle Records, 1798-1926 contains records of the British administration in Ireland prior to 1922, a crucial period which saw the rise of Parnell and the Land War in 1880 through to the establishment of the Irish Free State in 1921.

This collection comprises materials from Series CO 904, The National Archives, Kew, UK: Date Range: 1798-1926. Content: 119,866 images.

The papers also illustrate the methods and motives of Dublin Castle’s police system and offer insights into the legal and political inhibitions which, so often restrained the government from interfering with the various private armies.

Most of these papers relate directly or indirectly to the methods adopted by the authorities, using civil and military forces, to combat the efforts of the Nationalist organizations to secure Irish independence.

A few papers relate to routine civil administration; and there are also files containing information about personalities who figured prominently in the struggle, including Eamon De Valera, Roger Casement, Maud Gonne and Countess Markievicz.

Trialled in July 2012.

Northern Ireland:a Divided Community, 1921-1972 Cabinet Papers of the Stormont Administration [Cengage]

An electronic, fully-text searchable database of the Cabinet Conclusion files of the Northern Ireland Government (CAB/4) 1921-72. CAB/4 represents a full record of every debate and transaction for the entire duration of the Stormont administration, the devolved government of Northern Ireland, 1921-72. Separate files exist for each Cabinet Meeting and include minutes and memoranda; these reflect the wide range of problems and activities involved in making the new administration work. Topics covered include, but are not limited to: Prevention of incitement to religious hatred, Road spiking, Dock strikes, Routing of Orange Day parades, Role of the Ulster Defence Force, Policing, Prisons, Army occupation of factories. Includes browse indexes of people and places, in addition to full-text searching of the typed minutes themselves. Of interest to Modern Historians of Britain, Northern Ireland and The Troubles.

Available in the British Library.

Trench Journals and Unit Magazines of the First World War [Proquest]

"Rare magazines published by service personnel of the First World War are now searchable online in Trench Journals and Unit Magazines of the First World War, providing scholars with a unique resource from which to research alternative perspectives on the conflict.

Published by every type of military and support service unit, from every involved nation, trench journals were a means of expression through which men and women engaged in all aspects of World War I could share their thoughts and experiences.

By making these magazine discoverable online, Trench Journals and Unit Magazines of the First World War opens up new opportunities for research in multiple fields: literature, history, war studies, cultural studies, and gender studies. Over 1,500 periodicals, drawn from the holdings of major libraries and research collections, including the Imperial War Museums and the British Library, make this resource the most comprehensive collection of trench journals available to scholars anywhere in one place."

Trialled 25 Sept - 24 Oct. 2015.

La Guerra Civil Española (The Spanish Civil War) (Archives Unbound) [Cengage]

The Spanish Civil War 1936-1939 was marked by an outpouring of literary energies engaging the interest of the poet, the novelist, the pamphleteer and the historian. Unfortunately, very little material from this fascinating period survived the wartime conditions in Spain and the ravages of World War II. This collection presents approximately 3,000 rare pamphlets from Spain, Portugal, Latin America and the Philippines, as well as more than 100 German pamphlets published in Spanish. The pamphlets in this collection represent the opinions and philosophies of the insurgents, anarchists, socialists and communists. Here lies a wealth of information on Spanish and international history, ideology, political science, church and state conflicts, nationalism, socialism, fascism and communism.

Trialled in July 2012.

Testaments to the Holocaust [Cengage]

Documents and Rare Printed Materials from the Wiener Library, London, the World’s oldest Holocaust museum. The collection offers fully searchable personal accounts of life in Nazi Germany, along with photographs, propaganda materials such as school text books, limited circulation publications and rare serials in a uniquely flexible format, enabling detailed research into the domestic policies of Nazi Germany, Jewish life in Germany from 1933 to after the war, propaganda, life in the concentration camps, in hiding, emigration and refugee life. Of interest to Modern Historians on the subjects of Jewish history, Nazi Germany, WWII studies, Holocaust studies. Please note that the collection contains images which some may find disturbing.

Trialled in July 2012.

La France pendant la guerre 1939-1945 : journaux de la Résistance et de Vichy (Archives Unbound) [Cengage]

This database comprises documents from the British Library and other universities pertaining to the war and occupation of France: 1939-1945. The British Library has a number of titles relating to this subject which are not contained in the Bibliothèque Nationale. The Journals of the Résistance were produced by resistance fighters in the countryside and published clandestinely in Great Britain to be used by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs. All the titles which are not available via l’Association pour la Conservation et la Reproduction Photographique de la Presse in their 1964 edition will be published here.

This collection may be useful to anyone interested in the sentiments and mentalities of the French and the Resistance during the Second World War.

Trialled in July 2012.

Available in the British Library.

Conditions & Politics in Occupied Western Europe, 1940-1945 [Cengage]

Offers fully text-searchable images of the British Foreign Office information files gathered from across German-occupied territories following the collapse of the peacetime diplomacy. The collection offers more than 22,000 records in nearly 1,000 files selected by Dr Michael Stenton, University of Cambridge. There are also newly commissioned thematic essays by leading scholars in the field with links directly to relevant documents, a World War II Chronology, a picture gallery of SOE plans and equipment and clips from the SOE film, Now it can be told (1946). Of use to Modern Historians.

Trialled in July 2012.

East Germany from Stalinization to the New Economic Policy, 1950-1963 (Archives Unbound) [Cengage]

Now available to Oxford users.

This publication reproduces the State Department Decimal Files 762B, 862B and 962B from the General Records of the Department of State, in the custody of the National Archives. It was originally microfilmed as Records of the U.S. Department of State, relating to the Internal Affairs of East Germany. 

It specifically looks at in depth the creation of the East German state, living conditions and its people.  Documents included in this collection are predominantly instructions to and dispatches from U.S. diplomatic and consular personnel, regarding political, military, economic, social, industrial and other internal conditions and events in East Germany.

Trialled in July 2012.

Picture Post Historical Archive 1938-1957 [Cengage]

Consists of the complete, fully searchable facsimile archive of the Picture Post, the iconic newspaper published in Britain from 1938-1957 that defined the style of photojournalism in the 20th century. Users can browse and search online more than 38,000 pages and 95,000 articles online, gaining remarkable insight into a crucial period of 20th century history - from the stormy years leading up to World War II to the first decade of the Cold War. Picture Post provides students and researchers with online access to a unique visual record of the 1930s to 1950s - from the humorous and light-hearted snapshots of daily life to the serious and history defining moments of domestic and international affairs. Useful for Modern Historians, Researchers into WWII and post-War Britain, and undergraduate historians studying for Special Subject War and Reconstruction.

Trialled in July 2012.

Available in the British Library.

The Listener Historical Archive 1929-1991 [Cengage]

Offers researchers and students access to the complete, fully searchable facsimile archive of The Listener, the BBC periodical published from 1929-1991. The online archive consists of the complete 62 year run of the paper, allowing users to search across 129,000 pages and more than 226,000 articles - all newly digitised from originals in full colour. Developed as the medium for reproducing broadcast talks – initially on radio, but in later years television as well - The Listener is one of the few records and means of accessing the content of many early broadcasts. It included contributions of E. M. Forster, George Orwell, Bertrand Russell, George Bernard Shaw and Virginia Woolf, as well as providing an important platform for new writers and poets, such as W. H. Auden, Sylvia Plath and Philip Larkin. Of interest to Modern Historians, researchers on Broadcast Media in Britain, Cultural Studies, Literature, and Sociology.

Trialled in July 2012.

The Vogue Archive [Proquest]

This archive contains digitised copies of Vogue Magazine in their entirety from 1892 to the present day. Users can conduct text and title searches of over 400,000 pages, including articles, image captions, and advertisements.  

Vogue is a leading record of fashion, gender, and modern social history. It is also a record of advertisements from top brands such as Revlon, Coty, Versace and Chanel. This database will likely be of interest to fashion marketing students and researchers or other scholars interested in culture, gender, and social tastes from the 1890s to the present.

Examples of using the Vogue for Social History or Gender Studies:

•    Gender Studies: Explore historical representations of domesticity and women in the workplace. Follow debates about body image, from 1900s Dress Reform to early discussions of plastic surgery; from the 1940s New Look to the recent “size zero” debate Study female role models, from Coco Chanel to Beyoncé Visual Arts Find photographs by Horst P Horst, Cecil Beaton, Irving Penn, Richard Avedon or Steven Meisel, or illustrations by Georges Lepape, Helen Dryden, Eric and Antonio.

•    Social History: Analyze the impact of World War II on American culture, and read wartime articles by Lee Miller, Winston Churchill, and Bertrand Russell Literature Discover articles and short stories by Kate Chopin, Vladimir Nabokov, Carson McCullers and George Bernard Shaw or explore changing social mores, tastes and aspirations from 1890s to the present.

Trialled in July 2012.

British Online Archives: The British Union of Fascists : newspapers and secret files

Microform Academic Publishers offers scholars and academics access to a range of primary sources relevant for modern history. The many collections include some relevant to Anglo-American history, 20th century political history and history of science and medicine from the 18th to the 20th century.

The British Union of Fascists : newspapers and secret files: In addition to the three principal organs of BUF, Action (1936-1940), Blackshirt (1933-1939) and Fascist week(1933-1934), the present collection reproduces, from the National Archives at Kew, a wealth of information gathered by the Home Office, the Police, MI5 and the Cabinet Office on Mosley and also his second wife, Lady Diana Mosley, who was arrested and interned just over a month later, on the 29th of June 1940. Read together, these newspapers and previously classified documents permit researchers to evaluate the true extent not only of any threat home-grown fascism posed to Britain during the early stages of the Second World War, but also of the political and financial relationships between British fascists, the Nazis in Germany, and Mussolini's fascist party in Italy, as well as elsewhere in Europe during this period of political history.

Trialled in July 2012.

Available in the British Library.

British Online Archives: Communist Party of Great Britain archive

Microform Academic Publishers offers scholars and academics access to a range of primary sources relevant for modern history. The many collections include some relevant to Anglo-American history, 20th century political history and history of science and medicine from the 18th to the 20th century.

Communist Party of Great Britain archive: For decades, the party's archives were a closed book to researchers, and the full story of its activities proved impossible to tell. With the dissolution of the Communist Party of Great Britain (CPGB) in 1991, however, the decision was taken to deposit the archives alongside those of the Labour Party in Manchester's People's History Museum. Catalogued in 1993-1994, these turned out to be one of the outstanding national collections for the political history of the British left and have since aroused considerable scholarly interest. For the period from the 1940s, records of the party's central leading bodies have been meticulously preserved and include notes taken at meetings by leading party officials. In addition there are extensive records of central departments like the industrial department, which dealt with the trade union activities which were the most visible and controversial sign of the party's influence, and the international department, which maintained links with communist parties overseas.

Trialled in July 2012.

Daily Reports of the Gestapo HQ in Vienna 1938-1945

Trial ended 14 Dec 2012.

From 1934 on, the Regional Gestapo Headquarters throughout the entire German Reich had to report all political incidents of the previous 24 hours to Berlin. The purpose of these reports was to outline the mood, the political situation and security measures. This regulation was later applied to Austria, following its annexation. Shortly before the beginning of the war, the Nazi Regime issued a decree with new instructions for the dispatch of the so-called "Tagesrapporte" or daily reports. Henceforth, they were to be kept shorter and report, above all, on the communist and Marxist movements in the country.

The daily reports of the Gestapo regional headquarters in Vienna are now published for the first time and thus available for historical research. For no other Gestapo regional headquarters is such a concentration of source material available. The first daily report on record from the Gestapo regional headquarters in Vienna dates from September 2nd 1938. Until the demise of the Nazi regime some 810 reports were sent from Vienna to the central headquarters in Berlin.

The Churchill Archives

Trial ended 28 February 2013

The Churchill Archives provides access to nearly 800,000 documents such as speeches, private letters, telegrams, manuscripts and government transcripts. Accompanying the resource are specially-commissioned articles, as well as reading lists and bibliographies. Readers can search the collection by topic, by person, by place or by period. This resources is relevant for students and researches of modern history, politics and international affairs.

Available in the British Library.

The Chamberlain Papers 1836-1940

The Chamberlain Papers is a three-part collection covering the political careers of three men who belonged to the most powerful political dynasty in late 19th and early 20th century Britain. Sourced from the collection of papers at the University of Birmingham Library, they are an invaluable research tool for researchers and students of:

  • Politics and International Relations
  • 19th and 20th Century History
  • War Studies

The Papers of Joseph Chamberlain (1836 – 1914)

Highlight his political career as Mayor of Birmingham to Secretary of State for the Colonies and the fight over tariff reforms with which he ended his career. This collection demonstrates the rapid change in politics, particularly the constantly changing allegiances between politicians and Chamberlain’s own development as a politician. Newspaper clippings of his early speeches, the only record still existing of them, can also be found in this collection, recording his political career from start to finish.

Key documents found in this collection include:

  • Personal Letters and diaries, family scrap albums, photographs and cartoons.
  • Newspaper clippings of his speeches collected by his second wife, reviews of his career and accounts of his funeral.
  • Political papers on domestic politics, focussing on the work of party organisation, fighting of elections and the formation of national policy.
  • Letters regarding the campaign for imperial preference and tariff reform.
  • Irish correspondence regarding the issue of Home Rule in the 1880s.
  • Minutes, notebooks and semi-official diaries on his career as Colonial Secretary.

The Papers of Sir Austen Chamberlain (1863 – 1937)

Sir Austen Chamberlain, Joseph’s eldest son, was Britain’s most capable Foreign Secretary of the interwar period, earning the Nobel Peace Prize for the signing of the Locarno Treaties in 1925. As a career politician, he held a variety of government offices.

Key documents found in this collection include:

  • Letters between Austen and his family, including 1,358 letters from Austen to his stepmother, Mary, forming the most important correspondence covering his whole lifetime in politics.
  • Assortment of papers and correspondence from 1902-1911 on the military estimates, reform of the army and tariff reform.
  • Papers from the Committee of Imperial Defence, often relating to India, during the war and post-war coalition ministries.
  • Letters of congratulations, including the Nobel Peace Prize, in response to his achievement at Locarno.

The Papers of Neville Chamberlain Date Range: 1869 – 1940

Neville Chamberlain, Joseph’s younger son, remains the best-known of the Chamberlain family due to his controversial policy of “appeasement” towards Hitler. The Papers of Neville Chamberlain contain political papers documenting his policies as Chancellor of the Exchequer and Prime Minister, but also highlight his personal correspondence with his family. These provide insight into the intentions behind his policies, his concerns at the development of the Second World War, as well as letters covering his life together with his wife Annie and his sisters, particularly Hilda and Ida.

Key documents found in this collection include:

  • Drafts and final copies of a number of his political speeches and broadcasts.
  • Papers of Neville Chamberlain as the Director General of National Service, including strained correspondence with Lloyd George.
  • Letters on internal intrigues of the Conservative party in the early 1930s.
  • Papers outlining the meetings with Hitler at Berchtesgaden, on the early months of the resumed war, on his preparation for the debate that precipitated his fall as Prime Minister and on his subsequent responsibilities as Lord President.
  • Papers of Mrs Neville Chamberlain following her husband’s death.
  • Photographs, including some of his trips to meet Mussolini and then Hitler in 1938.

Women, War and Society, 1914–1918 (Archives Unbound)

Women, War and Society, 1914–1918 reproduces primary source material brought together in the Imperial War Museum, London, and originally published by the Air Ministry, League of Mercy and War Fund, Purple Cross Service, Russian Relief Fund and many other organizations.  This definitive digital collection of charity and international relief reports, pamphlets, photographs, press cuttings and more is fully searchable. It fully documents the essential contribution of women during the Great War as well as the revolutionary and permanent impact the War had on the personal, social and professional lives of these women.

Trialed 26 Sept to 26 Oct. 2015. PURCHASED 15 July 2016

Chatham House Online Archive

"A resource given access to digitised Chatham House’s rich archive covering the 20th and 21st centuries. Containing over 90 years of high level analysis and research on global trends and key events and issues, this searchable online archive brings international affairs knowledge and expertise directly to the desktops of researchers and students.

Chatham House Online Archive provides a searchable, browseable research environment that enables users to explore approximately half a million pages and over 90 years of research, expert analysis and commentary. Subject-indexed briefing papers, special reports, pamphlets, conference papers and monographs will allow users to quickly retrieve and analyse material relevant to their own research or study. Users will also have access to the full text of Chatham House’s two flagship publications: the leading academic journal International Affairs and the magazine The World Today. Additionally, the archive offers unique access to thousands of hours of audio recordings of Chatham House lectures and their fully searchable transcripts offering valuable insight into the thoughts and reasonings of key figures in international affairs."

U.S. Intelligence on Europe, 1945-1995 [Brill Primary Sources]

This unique collection of over 4,000 formerly classified U.S. government documents provides a comprehensive survey of the U.S. intelligence community’s activities in Europe, including Eastern Europe, Turkey and Cyprus, covering the time period from the end of World War II to the fall of the Iron Curtain and beyond.

Scope:
U.S. Intelligence operations in Western Europe
U.S. Intelligence operations in Eastern Europe
U.S. Intelligence gathering on Western European communist parties
Economic intelligence gathering
Monitoring European anti-nuclear groups in the 1980s
Intelligence gathering on terrorist groups
Analyses of European socio-economic developments

Number of documents: 4,023

Sourcing archives:
- National Archives and Records Administration (NARA), College Park, Maryland
- CIA-CREST database
- Harry S. Truman Library, Independence, Missouri
- Dwight D. Eisenhower Library, Abilene, Kansas
- George H.W. Bush Library, Houston, Texas
- John F. Kennedy Library, Boston, Massachusetts
- Lyndon B. Johnson Library, Austin, Texas
- Richard M. Nixon Presidential Library, Yorba Linda, California
- Gerald R. Ford Library, Ann Arbor, Michigan
- Jimmy Carter Presidential Library, Atlanta, Georgia
- Ronald Reagan Presidential Library, Simi Valley, California
- Hoover Institution Archives, Palo Alto, California
- Library of Congress Manuscript Division, Washington, D.C.

- National Archives of the United Kingdom, Kew, England

Collection Highlights

  • Security of Turkey 1945-1947
  • Greek civil war 1946-1949
  •  Elections in Italy (November 1947)
  • Berlin Crisis (1948-1949)
  • Spying on the French war in Algeria (1954-1962)
  • Austrian independence (August 1955)
  • Food riots and political discontent in Poland (1956)
  • Soviet military intervention in Hungary (October 1956)
  • The role of Western European intelligence services in Cuban Missile Crisis (1962)
  • Diplomatic/military crisis between Greece and Turkey over Cyprus (January - August 1964)
  • Soviet/Warsaw Pact invasion of Czechoslovakia (August 1968)
  • Impact of Arab oil embargo in Europe (1973-1974)
  • Cyprus coup d’etat and the Turkish invasion of Cyprus (July - August 1974)
  • Rise of the Solidarity trade union and the Polish crisis (1980-1981)

Foreign Broadcast Information Services (FBIS)

The Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Report has been the United States' principal record of political and historical open source intelligence for nearly 70 years.

The original mission of the FBIS was to monitor, record, transcribe, and translate intercepted radio broadcasts from foreign governments, official news services, and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories. FBIS Daily Reports constitutes a unique archive of transcripts of foreign broadcasts and news that provides insight into the second half of the 20th century; many of these materials are firsthand reports of events as they occurred. They consist of translated broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements from nations around the globe. These media sources were monitored in their languages of origin, translated into English, and issued by an agency of the US government.

Oxford has access is to the following geographical collections:

Middle East and North Africa, 1974–1987
Near East and South Asia, 1987–1996
South Asia, 1980–1987
Sub-Saharan Africa, 1974–1980 and Africa, 1987–1996
Eastern Europe, 1974–1996
Latin America, 1974-1996
Soviet Union, 1974-1991
Central Eurasia, 1992-1996
Western Europe, 1974-1996

but is missing: FBIS Global Archive, 1941-1974; and FBIS Regional Modules, 1974-1996: Part 3: China (CHI) & Part 4: Asia, Pacific and East Asia (APA, EAS).

   

Cold War: Global Perspectives on East-West Tensions, 1945-1991

This resource is a digital archive of international primary source documents on the Cold War, spanning five decades, this resource will be of interest to anyone researching 20th-century global studies.

The sources seem to be selected from FBIS (Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily Reports) documents, i.e. these are CIA monitored, recorded, and translated coverage of the Cold War in foreign media and government publications. They covers newspapers, magazines, radio broadcasts, television broadcasts, books, government reports, and more.

Trialed 5 April - 4 May. Please send any feedback to angelina.gibson@bodleian.ox.ac.uk.

Secret Files from World Wars to Cold War

Provides access to British government secret intelligence and foreign policy files from 1873 to 1953. Sourced from The National Archives, the range of documents – from signals intelligence reports to government-directed policy and strategy – is relevant from the period of Appeasement right through to the early Cold War. The content of the material is international in its breadth and scope. At the heart of this resource are the files of the Permanent Undersecretary’s Department (PUSD) which was the point of liaison between the Foreign Office and the British intelligence establishment.

Trialed 18 April - 20 May 2016.

America and Great Britain : diplomatic relations, 1775-1815

The archive is a valuable tool in understanding an era of modernization in diplomatic practises. With the expansion of the British Foreign Office, there was a movement away from the era of the aristocratic amateur towards a more tightly controlled process, where professionalised servants of the British Crown filed regular despatches from across the world to a rigid procedure. The collection also provides an insight into European politics during this period. Conflicts between America, France and Britain arising over trade, defence and diplomacy are explored and increase our understanding of this complex trans-Atlantic triumvirate.

Trial until 9 May to 8 June 2016.

Leisure, Travel and Mass Culture - the History of Tourism

This resource provides access to a highly diverse collection of material on well-known, little-known and far-flung travel destinations.

Collections come from multiple archives, including Thomas Cook, provide a multi-national perspective on the evolution of affordable tourism between 1850 and the 1980s. It offers researchers an interesting insight into social and cultural history, such as the growth and expansion of travel agents and transport companies and the integral role they played in the accessibility of destinations across Britain, Europe, North America and around the World.

Trialled 25 March - 24 April 2017.

> More