Skip to main content

History databases desiderata & trials: Home & current trials

Subjects: History - General

eResources news

Loading

Suggest other resources

If a database or ejournal is not yet on the History Desiderata, you can recommend an electronic resource.

How to evaluate a database

Is the content:

  • scholarly
  • authoritative & peer-reviewed
  • accurate
  • up-to-date
  • complete
  • supported by editorials, documentation, guides.

Is there good functionality for

  • ease of use
  • searching & browsing
  • viewing, zooming, resizing
  • saving, emailing, printing
  • alerts
  • clear display & navigation

Tips:

  • Read editorial, helpfiles and FAQs
  • Test the same search using different methods

Is it relevant for other disciplines?

Trial until 15 March: ZEDHIA - historical business information from the Austro-Hungarian monarchy

This resource provides historical business information from the Austro-Hungarian monarchy and its successor and partly neighbouring states. This includes the areas of modern Austria, Czech Republic, Slovakia, Hungary, Slovenia, Croatia, Romania and many more until 1945 and more complete information restricted to Austria afterwards. Currently it covers 1812 to 2003. The backbone of the database are the Compass yearbooks and the Zentralblatt für die Eintragungen ins Handelsregister (commercial register entries). It gives access to depth-structured, digitised, full-text resources in the fields of Central European economic history and genealogy.

The trial can be access from OxLIP+.

Feedback to isabel.holowaty@bodleian.ox.ac.uk by 15 March 2018.

Trials until 10 February: 3 resources on women's history

Oxford researchers are now invited to trial three online resources on the study of women's history, gender history and social history, covering British but also global history to some extent.

All resources are relevant for the 19th and 20th centuries.

They can be accessed via SOLO.

The trials will run until 10 February. Please send any feedback on the content, functionality and usefulness to your research to isabel.holowaty@bodleian.ox.ac.uk.

When doing so, please also suggest priorities purchases and explain why. Your views matter!

Archives Direct: Women in the National Archives

Nineteenth Century Collections Online: Women: Transnational Networks

Women’s Studies Archive: Issues and Identities

Trial until 8th February: American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection, 1684-1912 [EBSCO]

The American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection provides digital access to the full text of thousands of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912, digitised from the collections of the American Antiquarian Society. Titles cover a broad range of subjects and interests related to every aspect of American life and culture, from politics to religion, science, law, literature and the arts.
>>More information on the AAS periodicals collection

Access is available via OxLIP+ until 8th February 2018. Please send feedback to jane.rawson@bodleian.ox.ac.uk.

Introduction

The Bodleian History Librarian aims to provide a range of electronic resources to support the teaching and research of the History Faculty and primarily for British and Western European history and history of science & medicine.

Existing subscriptions are listed in SOLO and OxLIP+. If you have any difficulties connecting to a database, please contact eResources.

Oxford readers, esp. staff and students of the History Faculty, are invited to give feedback on the electronic resources desiderata list and participate in trials.

Some comments may be passed to the eresources provider if they help in improving the resource. Feedback will also be collated for discussion in the Committee of Library Provision for History which meets Tuesdays, week 5, each term.

Please note that financial information will not be disclosed at this stage though it clearly is a major factor in deciding whether a purchase / subscription will be taken. Costs can range anything from a few hundred pounds to several thousand of pounds.

Enquiries relating to eResources for countries other than British and Western European and relating to History of Art, should be directed to the relevant subject librarian.

Isabel Holowaty
Bodleian History Librarian

19 October 2012

Need help?

Isabel Holowaty's picture
Isabel Holowaty
Contact:
Upper Reading Room, Room 2.03 (North / History end)
Bodleian Library, Broad Street
Oxford, OX1 3BG
01865 2-77294
Website / Blog PageSkype Contact