Skip to main content

Extended essays - a research resources guide for English undergraduates: Newspapers & ephemera

Subjects: English

Newspapers on OxLIP+

You can find links to a large number of British and foreign newspapers in the Newspapers section OxLIP+.

Individual titles include: the Guardian (1821-2003) /Observer (1791-2003), the Irish Times (1859-2007) and the Scotsman (1817-1950) - which are all available via Proquest Historical Newspapers; the Times Digital Archive and the Times Literary Supplement Centenary Archive.

There are also fully searchable newspaper collections, such as ProQuest Historical Newspapers, and the 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers and the 19th Century British Library Newspapers collections, and databases such as Nexis UK and Factiva, which include links to newspaper articles.

For help wth using some of these resources see the following guides:

17th-18th Century Burney Collection online help
19th Century British Newspapers online help
(These resources are only accessible from a computer connected to the University of Oxford network, or by logging on remotely using your SSO username and password)


Proquest Historical Newspapers online guide
 

Nexis UK
Search for articles where the search term appears in the headline?
Search for two terms within the same sentence?
Search for articles from a particular publication?

(N.B. If you are not connected to the Oxford network you will need to login with your Oxford Single Sign On username and password to gain full access to the above online resources)

John Johnson Collection of Printed Ephemera

This collection provides access to thousands of items selected from the John Johnson Collection of Printed Ephemera, offering unique insights into the changing nature of everyday life in Britain in the eighteenth, nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Categories include Nineteenth-Century Entertainment; the Booktrade; Popular Prints; Crimes, Murders and Executions; and Advertising.

http://johnjohnson.chadwyck.co.uk/home.do

For a demo of how to use the John Johnson Collection please go to: http://johnjohnson.chadwyck.co.uk/info/demo.do

(N.B. If you are not connected to the Oxford network you will need to login with your Oxford Single Sign On username and password to gain full access to the above online resource)

British Newspapers 1600-1900

This resource is a comprehensive database of historical British newspapers covering the period 1600 to 1900. It combines the 17th and 18th Century Burney newspapers and the 19th Century British Library Newspapers in a single interface. You can search the full text of over 3 million pages of national and regional newspapers, newsbooks and ephemera. Searching options also include browsing newspapers by location and limiting searches to particular publication sections (e.g. advertising, business news, people).

You can conduct a basic search from here:

 

 

 

 

For more advanced searching and to use the full range of options available, we recommended you access these resources via OxLIP+

(N.B. If you are not connected to the Oxford network you will need to login with your Oxford Single Sign On username and password to gain full access to the above online resources)

Printed newspaper holdings

For information on hard copy newspaper holdings in the Bodleian Libraries, see:  http://www.bodleian.ox.ac.uk/subjects-and-libraries/subjects/reference/newspapers or visit the Main Enquiry Desk in the Old Bodleian Lower Reading Room.

TIP! Copy and paste the shelfmark listed in to the SOLO search box and limit your search to 'in the shelfmark', to locate where these are held in Oxford. (From the Find & Request tab for your selected title, you may need to expand the list of results by clicking on the 'Show more items' button)

e.g. The Guardian (1980-)
Shelfmark: Films 1615



 You can also access printed copies at the British Library Newspaper Reading Room at St. Pancras in London, for details see: http://www.bl.uk/reshelp/inrrooms/blnewspapers/newsrr.html