Skip to main content

Extended essays - a research resources guide for English undergraduates: eJournals

Subjects: English

Introduction to eJournals

Many journals are now available online in full text. These electronic journals can be browsed in a similar way to their printed equivalents, but have the added advantage of:

  • being searchable (e.g. by subject, author or title of article)
  • being accessible from any computer, saving the time required to track down printed journals in different libraries 
  • being available when libraries are closed

The easiest way to access them is to go directly to Find eJournal via OxLIP+. Find e-journal is an A-Z list of over 28,000 ejournals. Use it to find and connect to journals when you know the title of the journal you wish to use. It is not suitable for keyword or author searching.

If you want to search for articles by keyword or author, use Find Database to identify and connect to an index such as the MLA Bibliography.

(N.B. If you are not connected to the Oxford network you will need to login with your Oxford Single Sign On username and password to gain full access to the above online resources)

Searching for specific eJournals

If you know the title of the journal you are looking for you can search for it using SOLO or Find eJournal to see if an online version is available. You can then either access a particular article or browse the most recent issues of journal.

For more information go to our guide on Finding and connecting to e-resources and e-journals using Oxlip+

If the coverage you require is not available online, a link is available from within Oxford eJournals to print holdings on SOLO.

MLA Bibliography

The MLA International Bibliography indexes articles from over 4,000 humanities journals from 1926 to the present. You can search for articles by author, subject or title, and complex combined keyword searches are also possible. 

The MLA also provides links to the library catalogue and full text articles, where available. Library staff will be pleased to help with your searches wherever possible.

Alternatively, you can view the ProQuest 'Getting started with the MLA' guide.

Why is searching the MLA International Bibliography better than searching Google?

(N.B. If you are not connected to the Oxford network you will need to login with your Oxford Single Sign On username and password to gain full access to the above online resource)

Annual Bibliography of English Language & Literature (ABELL)

The Annual Bibliography of English Language & Literature (ABELL) contains approximately 880,000 bibliographic records covering monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays and doctoral dissertations published anywhere in the world from 1920 onwards.

Subject areas covered by ABELL include:

  • English language – including syntax, phonology, lexicology, semantics, stylistics and dialectology
  • English literature – including poetry, prose, fiction, films, biography, travel writing, literary theory and studies of individual authors
  • bibliography – including manuscript studies, textual studies and the history of publishing
  • traditional culture of the English-speaking world including custom, belief, narrative, song, dance and material culture.

(N.B. If you are not connected to the Oxford network you will need to login with your Oxford Single Sign On username and password to gain full access to the above online resource)

Year's Work in English Studies (YWES)

The Year's Work in English Studies (YWES) is a qualitative bibliographical review of scholarly work on English language and literatures written in English. It is the largest and most comprehensive work of its kind and the oldest evaluative work of literary criticism.

Each volume includes a detailed overview from Old English to contemporary critical works for a given year, and contains critical notices for some 1100 books; extensive coverage of English Language, American Literature, New Literatures in English and English Literature; coverage of specialist periodicals; comprehensive indexing by critic, author, and subject; plus bibliographical endnotes for each chapter.

(N.B. If you are not connected to the Oxford network you will need to login with your Oxford Single Sign On username and password to gain full access to the above online resource)