Skip to main content

Prelims Paper 1: Introduction to English Language and Literature: eBooks

Subjects: English

Find eBooks on SOLO

To access ebooks just search for a title in SOLO and click on 'View Online' to read online, or download chapters.

Remember to sign in using your SSO first!



Cambridge Collections Online

Cambridge Collections Online provides fully searchable online editions of all the Cambridge Companions series in Literature, Classics, Philosophy, Religion and Culture.  You can search by specific title and also by keyword within the text. Individual chapters can be viewed as pdf files, which replicate the print version of the book, or in html for onscreen viewing.
 

Encyclopedia of Language & Linguistics

The Encyclopedia of Language & Linguistics covers the full range of topics in contemporary linguistics, with coverage across all aspects of spoken, written and signed language.  You'll find it by searching SOLO, or click the link below for the online version.

Encyclopedia of Language & Linguistics (Second Edition)
Editor-in-Chief:   Keith Brown
ISBN: 978-0-08
-044854-1               

(N.B. If you are not connected to the Oxford network you will need to login with your Oxford Single Sign On username and password to gain full access to the above online resource)

Blackwell Reference Online

Blackwell Reference Online provides full text access to key reference works. The texts are fully searchable and chapters can be read online in html format. You can browse the Linguistics section to find the titles you require or search a particular title or the whole collection.

This title is particularly useful for Paper 1:
A Companion to the History of the English Language

Edited by: HARUKO MOMMA and MICHAEL MATTO
eISBN: 9781405129923
Print publication date: 2008

Other examples from the collection include:

The Handbook of English Linguistics
Edited by: Bas Arts and April McMahon
eISBN: 9781405113823
Print publication date: 2006

The Handbook of World Englishes
Edited by: Braj B. Kachru, Yamuna Kachru and Cecil L. Nelson
eISBN: 9781405111850
Print publication date: 2006

The Handbook of Language and Gender
Edited by: Janet Holmes and Miriam Meyerhoff
eISBN: 9780631225034
Print publication date: 2004

(N.B. If you are not connected to the Oxford network you will need to login with your Oxford Single Sign On username and password to gain full access to these ebooks)