Skip to main content

Roman law in translation: Translations: Justinian

Justinian: Corpus Iuris Civilis

Justinian:  Corpus Iuris Civilis
Scott, S P The civil law, v. 2 - 17 (a translation of the Corpus Iuris Civilis).  1932

 Roman 510 S429 (17 v. in 7)

Justinian: Digest

Justinian: Digest (or Pandects)
Dias, F  R The Digest : liber quadragesimus septimus: tit II. De furtis (translated with notes).  1884 Roman 552(47) D541
Dias, F  R Digest de pactis et transactionibus, II. 14, 15 (translated with a full analysis and notes).  1885 Roman 552(2) D541
Jackson, T C Justinian's Digest: Book 20 (translated, with an essay on the law of mortgage in Roman law).  1908 Roman 552(20) J14
Jolowicz, H F Digest XLVII.2 : De furtis (Latin text, with introduction, translation and notes). 1940 Roman 552(47) J75
Kolbert, C F The digest of Roman law : theft, rapine, damage and insult (Digest IX.2, XLVII.2, XLVII.8, XLVII.10 translated).  1979 Roman 552 K81
Lawson, F H Negligence in the civil law (includes text and parallel translation of the Lex Aquilia, Digest 9.2).  1950 General 510 L425
MacKintosh, J

The Roman law of sale, with modern illustrations. Digest XVIII. 1 and XIX. 1 (translated with notes and references).

2nd ed, 1907
Roman 552(18) M158a2

Matthaeus, A  &

Hewett, M L

On crimes : a commentary on Books XLVII and XLVIII of the Digest / by Antonius Matthaeus (Latin text, edited and translated in parallel by M.L. Hewett).

1987
Roman-Dutch 510 M436a
Monro, C H Digest XLI. 1. De adquirendo rerum dominio (Latin text with translation and notes).  1900 Roman 552(41) M753
Monro, C H

The Digest of Justinian (translated).

1904-09

Roman 552 M753

(2 v.)
Monro, C H Digest IX. 2.: Lex Aquilia (Latin text, translated with notes).  1898 Roman 552(9) M752a1 (Locked)
Monro, C H Digest XVII. 2. Pro socio (Latin text with translation and notes).  1902 Roman 552(17) M753
Monro, C H Digest XIX. 2. Locati conducti (Latin text with translation and notes).  1891 Roman 552(19) M753
Monro, C H Digest XLVII. 2. De furtis (Latin text with translation and notes).  1893 Roman 552(47) M753
Oliver, D T Digest XII. 1 and 4-7, and XIII. 1-3. De condictionibus (Latin text with translation and notes).  1937 Roman 552 (12) O48
Scott, S P The civil law, v. 2-11 (includes a translation of Justinian’s Digest).  1932 Roman 510 S429 (17 v. in 7)
Thayer, J B

Lex Aquilia (Digest IX. 2, Ad legem Aquiliam: (Latin text, translated with commentary). On gifts between husband and wife (Digest XXIV. 1, De donationibus inter virum et uxorem (Latin text and commentary only – no translation).  1929

Roman 552(9) T371
Trapnell, J G

The Institutes of Gaius (extracts): The Digest. Title XLV. 1, De verborum obligationibus (translated with notes).

1908
Roman 541 T773
Walker, B Selected titles from the Digest: De adquirendo rerum dominio and De adquirenda vel amittenda possessione: Digest XLI. 1 and 2 (Latin text, translated and annotated).  1880 Roman 552(41) W178
Walker, B Selected titles from the Digest: De condictionibus; Digest XII. 1 and 4-7, and Digest XIII. 1-3 (Latin text, translated with notes).  1881 Roman 552(12) W178
Walker, B Selected titles from the Digest: De servitutibus, Digest VIII (translated and annotated).  1881 Roman 552(8) W178
Walker, B Selected titles from the Digest:[part 1]:Mandati vel contra, Digest XVII. 1 (text with translation and notes).  1879 Roman 552(17) W178
Watson, A The Digest of Justinian (Latin text edited by Theodor Mommsen with the aid of Paul Krueger; translation edited by Alan Watson).  1985 Roman 552 M733b
Williams, J

A translation of the Digest XVIII. 1, De contrahenda emptione, and XIX. 1, De actionibus empti venditi (translated).

1896
Roman 552(18) W724
Zulueta, F de Digest 41, 1 & 2 (translated with commentary).  1922 Roman 552(41) Z94a1
 Zulueta, F de  The Roman law of sale: introduction and select texts. (Includes most of Digest XVIII.1 and XIX.1, translated with notes). 1949 reprint  Roman 641 Z94a

Justinian: Institutes

Justinian:  Insitutes
Abdy, J T & Walker, B The Institutes of Justinian (Latin text with translation and notes).  1876 Roman 553 A137a
Birks, P & McLeod, G Justinian's Institutes (translated with an introduction and the Latin text of Paul Krueger).  1987 Roman 553 B619a
Cooper, T & Harris, G The Institutes of Justinian (with notes by Thomas Cooper, Latin and English in parallel columns; translation based upon that of George Harris).  1812 Roman 553 C778
Cumin, P A manual of civil law; or, Examination in the Institutes of Justinian (translated with commentary).  1854 Roman 553 C969
Grapel, W

The Institutes of Justinian : with the Novel as to successions (translated).  1855

Roman 553 G766
Harris, G

D. Justiniani Institutionum libri quatuor: The four books of Justinian’s Institutions (Latin text translated with notes).

2nd ed. 1761
Roman 553 H314 (locked)
Hunter, W A A systematic and historical exposition of Roman law in the order of a code (includes  translations of the Institutes of Gaius and the Institutes of Justinian, by J. Ashton Cross).  4th ed. 1903 Roman 500 H947a4
Lee, R W

The elements of Roman law (includes a translation of the Institutes of Justinian and notes).  4th ed. 3rd impr. 1986

May be read together with:

The Institutes of Justinian (Latin text, to accompany The elements of Roman law by R.W. Lee).  1951

Roman 500 L479a4c

 

Roman 500 L479b

Mears, T L

The Institutes of Gaius and Justinian, the Twelve Tables and the CXVIIIth and CXXVIIth Novels (Greek and Latin text with translation, introduction and notes).  1882

Roman 540 M483
Moyle, J B

The Institutes of Justinian (translated with index).  5th ed. 1913

 

May be read with the Latin text:

 

Imperatoris Iustiniani Institutionum (Latin text with introduction commentary and excursus by J.B Moyle).  5th ed. 1912

Roman 553 M938b5

 

Roman 553 M938a5

Sandars, T C

The Institutes of Justinian (Latin text, translated in parallel, with introduction, and notes).  7th ed. new impression, 1956

Roman 553 S213a10
Scott, S P The civil law, v. 2 (includes a translation of Justinian’s Institutes).  1932 Roman 510 S429 (17 v. in 7)
Thomas, J A C

The Institutes of Justinian (Latin text, translated in parallel, with commentary).  1975

Roman 553 T458a

Justinian: Code

Justinian:  Code
Scott, S P The civil law, v. 12 - 15 (includes a translation of Justinian’s Code).  1932 Roman 510 S429 (17 v. in 7)

Justinian: Novels

Justinian: Novels
Mears, T L

The Institutes of Gaius and Justinian, the Twelve Tables and the CXVIIIth and CXXVIIth Novels (Latin and Greek texts with translation, introduction and notes).

1882
Roman 540 M483
Scott, S P The civil law, v. 16 - 17 (includes a translation of Justinian’s Novels).  1932 Roman 510 S429 (17 v. in 7)