Skip to main content

Latin American Studies: eResources & Links

Important eResources contd

AmericasBarometer – The only survey of democratic public opinion and behaviour that covers the Americas (North, Central, South and the Caribbean). It aims to measure democratic values and behaviours in the Americas using national probability samples of voting-age adults. Vanderbilt University

Business Source Complete – Country Reports: A definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. Country Reports link appears in right-hand column headed Browse. To access this database using OxLIP+ use Business Source Complete – Enhanced Interface

CariLaw – Caribbean primary materials including legislation and case law (including judgments from the Privy Council, Supreme/High Courts, Courts of Appeal and some other courts)

Factiva – Dow Jones & Reuters Company, providing essential business news and information. Collection of more than 10,000 authoritative sources includes thousands of current newspapers, as well as Reuters Fundamentals, and D&B company profiles

Index to Theses – A comprehensive listing of theses with abstracts accepted for higher degrees by universities in the United Kingdom and Ireland since 1716

Latin American Newspapers 1805-1922 – More than 30 fully searchable Latin American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries. Titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and elsewhere. Through eyewitness reporting, editorials, legislative information, letters, poetry, advertisements, matrimony notices and obituaries, this unique collection chronicles the evolution of Latin American culture and daily life over two centuries

Latinobarómetro – Latinobarómetro is an annual public opinion survey that involves some 20,000 interviews in 18 Latin American countries, representing more than 600 million inhabitants. Latinobarómetro Corporation researches the development of democracy and economies as well as societies, using indicators of opinion, attitudes, behaviour and values. (Data up to 2013 is freely available and data for 2015 is available to members of the University via OxLIP+)

MOxLAD – Statistical series for more than forty economic and social indicators over the whole twentieth century, covering twenty countries in the region. It is designed as a resource for economic and social historians worldwide. It is the only source that brings together publicly available data for 1900-2000 from a wide range of official publications and presents them on a consistent basis. Coverage is now being expanded, both backwards to 1870 and forwards to 2010

Nexis UK – Global news and business information service has over 20,000 sources of authoritative news, company, financial and market research data

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses, Full text – The official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research

Redalyc – Full text open access archive of journals and articles across a wide range of disciplines with an Ibero-American focus. This includes material published in and about Spain, Portugal, South America and the Caribbean. Coverage runs through the sciences, social sciences and humanities, including art, literature, history and language

vLex – Database of over 10 million legal documents from around the world, including Latin America. Typically the site offers official gazettes, law codes, legislation and law reports. Some material is exclusive to the site, which incorporates advanced search tools and a multilingual interface. For more information about vLex and other Law Library resources, visit the library's blog. Please note that this database requires the generic Oxford username and password (available via SSO)