Skip to main content

History Faculty Library: a short guide: HFL Floorplans

Downloadable Guides

These PDF guides are available to view online and download.

Bodleian History Faculty Library Floorplans

The Bodleian History Faculty Library collections are housed in the Radcliffe Camera and Gladstone Link on the Central Bodleian site.  The maps below show the show the floorplans and shelfmarks in each level of the Radcliffe Camera and Gladstone Link.

The floorplans below are also available as a PDF guide.

Upper Camera Floorplans

The Upper Camera (top floor of the Radcliffe Camera building) houses the Bod HFL Set Text collection, the History Staff Office and the Bodleian's undergraduate History, English and Film Studies collections. 

Books in the Upper Camera are for reference use only and cannot be taken out of the Upper Camera Reading Room.  They cannot be borrowed and they cannot be taken to other reading rooms in the Camera, Link and Old Bodleian. Study spaces and photocopying and scanning facilities are available in the Upper Camera.

Material from the Upper Camera can be transferred to other reading rooms for readers that are unable to access the Upper Camera. Please contact Sarah Smith (sarah.smith@bodleian.ox.ac.uk or 01865 277262) to organise transfers.

Set Text Collection

The Set Text collection provides reference copies of texts set for undergraduate History Further, Special and Optional Subjects. 

Staff Office Collections

The History Staff Offices has the following small collections available for reference use on request:

  • Set Text DVDs
  • Undergraduate Modern History theses
  • History of Chemistry theses
  • Prize essays & theses

Upper Camera Gallery Level - Bodleian Undergraduate History Collection

Upper Camera Main Level - Set Texts, History Staff Office Collections, Bodleian Undergraduate English and Film Studies Collections

 

 

 

Lower Camera Floor Plan

The Lower Camera houses the start of the Bodleian History Faculty Library lending collection.  It also has 2 photocopiers, study spaces, a book return box for books borrowed from the Bod HFL, a self-issue machine to borrow books from the Bod HFL lending collections, a collection point for Bodleian Library material requested from the closed stacks and a staffed service point. 

At the staff point you can borrow and return Bod HFL books, collect books on hold and ask friendly library staff for assistance.

Lower Camera - Lending Collection A-DA669

Gladstone Link Floorplams

The Gladstone Link has two levels and can be accessed via the stairs and lift in the Lower Radcliffe Camera or the tunnel from the Old Bodleian.

The Bod HFL lending collections continue on both floors of the Link. Oxford University students and staff who are registered members of the Library can borrow lending books from the Lower Camera Reserve Desk or the self-issue machine in the Lower Camera.

The Bod HFL main lending collection from DA670 to R and the Oversize Collection are housed in the Upper Gladstone Link, along with the New Books Display.

The Bod HFL lending collection S-Z and the Bod HFL Local History lending collection (shelfmarks KL-KW) are housed in the Lower Gladstone Link.

The rest of the Gladstone Link space houses Bodleian Library books and journals which are for reference use only (with the exception of the Po Chung Personal Development Collection in the Lower Gladstone Link). These books can be used in the Link, Old Bodleian and Camera.

There are study spaces and photocopying and scanning machines in both levels of the Link. There are toilets in the Upper Gladstone Link.


Upper Gladstone Link - Lending Collections DA670-R, Oversize Collection, New Books Display

 

Lower Gladstone Link - Lending Collections S-Z, Local History KL-KW (plus Bodleian Library material for reference use only)