Skip to main content

History Faculty Library: a short guide: HFL Collections

Recommend a book

Missing a book in our collections? Use this online form to recommend a book.

Electronic Resources

Historians can access our electronic resources (ebooks, ejournals, databases) via SOLO and OxLIP+, our dedicated platform for databases and ejournals. See also Primary Sources Online (pdf) or guides by period.

If you can't find an electronic resource, then you can

a. check if a database is available in the British Library

b. check if the database is on the History eresources desiderata & trials page.

c. and otherwise fill in an eresources recommendation form. As databases are usually very expensive, please don't assume it will be bought as a matter of course.

New HFL books

Scope

The scope of the collections held by the Bodleian History Faculty Library is from late Roman times up until c. 1989. It is strong in British history, good in European and American history and has some world history. There are also collections of historiography, history of science, history of art, and palaeography.

The majority of the books held by the library can be found by searching SOLO. However, some older source material can still only be found by consulting the card catalogue (located in the Maitland Room).

There is a growing collection of online collections such as databases (via OxLIP+), ejournals (via OU eJournals), ebooks (via SOLO) and quality websites (via HFL Delicious).

If you are a current member of Oxford University, use Single Sign-On (SSO) for remote access to subscription resources.

Collections for Undergraduates

> Listing of courses & library provision

Reference copies of set texts for the Honour School of Modern History are kept in the Upper Camera. Please fill in a form to say you are using them. Lending copies of set texts can be found on the open shelves as part of the main collection.

With the one exception of Special Subject "Russian Revolution of 1917" photocopied documents packs have been replaced by online versions stored in HFL's WebLearn site. Use your Single Sign-On (SSO) to login. If you have any problems, please contact the library.

Classification

The lending collection of the HFL is classified to the Library of Congress Classification Scheme. The exceptions are the Local history collections which are shelved in sequences KL-KW.

Please note that historical treatment of a subject may be contained within the main subject itself, ie historians tend to use the entire range of this classification scheme. Shelfmarks starting with the certain letters are particularly useful to historians:

A -- GENERAL WORKS

B -- PHILOSOPHY. PSYCHOLOGY. RELIGION [includes history of the church, religious history, etc.]

C -- AUXILIARY SCIENCES OF HISTORY [see sub-classes]

D -- WORLD HISTORY AND HISTORY OF EUROPE, ASIA, AFRICA, AUSTRALIA, NEW ZEALAND, ETC. [see sub-classes]

E -- HISTORY OF THE AMERICAS (United States) [see subclasses]

F -- HISTORY OF THE AMERICAS (US local history, Canada, South America) [see subclasses]

G -- GEOGRAPHY. ANTHROPOLOGY. RECREATION

H -- SOCIAL SCIENCES [includes historical treatments. See subclasses.]

J -- POLITICAL SCIENCE [includes political history. See subclasses.]

K -- LAW [includes legal history]

L -- EDUCATION [includes history of education, universities, etc.]

M -- MUSIC AND BOOKS ON MUSIC

N -- FINE ARTS [includes history of art & architecture]

P -- LANGUAGE AND LITERATURE [includes biographies of historians]

Q -- SCIENCE [includes history of science]

R -- MEDICINE [includes history of medicine]

S -- AGRICULTURE

T -- TECHNOLOGY  [includes history of technology]

U -- MILITARY SCIENCE [includes military history and warfare]

V -- NAVAL SCIENCE [includes naval history and warfare]

Z -- BIBLIOGRAPHY. LIBRARY SCIENCE. INFORMATION RESOURCES (GENERAL)